Social Buttons
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Tappan MEF352SFDA Electric Range, F3 error, not Temp Sensor, Help?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Rochester, NY
    Posts
    3

    Default Tappan MEF352SFDA Electric Range, F3 error, not Temp Sensor, Help?

    Just moved in to my new (1932) house and oven is gving me error code already. First time I turned the oven on it warmed up and took 20 minutes before F3 code appeared and oven turned off. Food seemed to cook (burn actually)faster than I expected too so not sure if it was hotter than the dial said or not. Now the codes appears within a minute of turning oven on and just beeps. The surface works fine with no problems. I also pulled it out and apart to check the temp sensor. I get 1087 ohms which is correct so I don't think it's the sensor. Appliance looks good and clean too. Everything I see says for F3 code it's the temp sensor. Not sure what to check next or what other likely causes are? Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Murray, Utah, United States
    Posts
    18,936

    Default

    Your ohms are too low. It should be 1100 at room temprature.
    OWNER RICK'S APPLIANCE REPAIR
    APPLIANCE TECHNICIAN FOR 29 YEARS
    REFRIGERATION SPECIALIST
    ONLINE SERV TECH: ApplianceBlog.com
    CERTIFIED TYPE 1; TYPE 2.....REFRIGERATION SERVICE E.S.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Rochester, NY
    Posts
    3

    Default Too low?

    Is 1087 really too low? Only 1% different. Seems like a normal variance amount to me. But I've never looked into this before so I don't know if 13 ohms makes a difference. Assuming I would see 600-900 iuf it was going bad. I'll look at getting a new temp sensor and seeing if that fixes it. Thanks.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Murray, Utah, United States
    Posts
    18,936

    Default

    This is what I'm going by:


    Range/Stove/Oven Fault Codes
    Failure
    Code
    Condition
    Check/Repair
    F0 & F1
    EOC (Electronic Oven Control) failure
    Replace Electronic Oven Control
    F2
    Oven too hot
    Check Bake function, if OK, replace oven temperature sensor
    F3
    Oven temperature sensor open
    Check oven temperature sensor, should be ~1100 ohms at room temperature. If too high or low, replace oven temperature sensor
    F4
    Oven temperature sensor shorted
    Replace oven temperature sensor
    F5, 6, 7
    EOC (Electronic Oven Control) failure
    Replace Electronic Oven Control
    F8
    Lock switches
    Check switches and replace if necessary
    OWNER RICK'S APPLIANCE REPAIR
    APPLIANCE TECHNICIAN FOR 29 YEARS
    REFRIGERATION SPECIALIST
    ONLINE SERV TECH: ApplianceBlog.com
    CERTIFIED TYPE 1; TYPE 2.....REFRIGERATION SERVICE E.S.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Rochester, NY
    Posts
    3

    Default

    I replaced the temp sensor and has worked like a charm since. Apparently 108 7ohms was low. Thanks.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Murray, Utah, United States
    Posts
    18,936

    Default

    Glad you got it fixed.
    OWNER RICK'S APPLIANCE REPAIR
    APPLIANCE TECHNICIAN FOR 29 YEARS
    REFRIGERATION SPECIALIST
    ONLINE SERV TECH: ApplianceBlog.com
    CERTIFIED TYPE 1; TYPE 2.....REFRIGERATION SERVICE E.S.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    seattle
    Posts
    3

    Default Frigidaire PLES389ECC F30 ERR CODE

    My Frigidaire PLES389ECC is not working: When I try to turn on the broil, bake or cleaing...the F30 ERR appear. Can anyone help.

    I have been reading on some posting and learned that some else had the same thing and had to tighten up the quick connect and it worked. Where is the quick connect located at? Does anyone have any diagram of where everything is located at? ie..temperture sensore?

    Thanks a million!!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    McMullen Valley, Arizona
    Posts
    70,632

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by HennyXo View Post
    My Frigidaire PLES389ECC is not working: When I try to turn on the broil, bake or cleaing...the F30 ERR appear. Can anyone help.

    I have been reading on some posting and learned that some else had the same thing and had to tighten up the quick connect and it worked. Where is the quick connect located at? Does anyone have any diagram of where everything is located at? ie..temperture sensore?

    Thanks a million!!
    Hi,

    There's serveral quick connects, when did you buy your range?

    Jake
    Appliance Repair School 1987-1988
    Star Appliance Tech. 2 yrs. 1988-1990
    Wards Appliance Tech. 11 yrs. 1990-2001
    Sears Appliance Tech. 4 yrs. 2001-Oct. 2005
    Jake's Appliance Repair Nov. 2005-present

    Look-Up & Order Parts

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    seattle
    Posts
    3

    Default Quick Connect

    I bought it in 10/06 Thanks in advance!

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    McMullen Valley, Arizona
    Posts
    70,632

    Default

    Ok, I'm not sure which quick connect may be the issue, I would just open the back of your range and check them all.

    Unplug your range first.

    Jake
    Appliance Repair School 1987-1988
    Star Appliance Tech. 2 yrs. 1988-1990
    Wards Appliance Tech. 11 yrs. 1990-2001
    Sears Appliance Tech. 4 yrs. 2001-Oct. 2005
    Jake's Appliance Repair Nov. 2005-present

    Look-Up & Order Parts

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 1
    Last Post: July 29th, 2007, 12:57 PM
  2. Frigidaire Electric Range Oven Temp Calibration?
    By kjr232 in forum Frigidaire/Tappan/Electrolux
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: May 26th, 2007, 11:11 PM
  3. Frigidaire Range - Ongoing problems with EOC (electric Oven Contoller)
    By filterthespam in forum Frigidaire/Tappan/Electrolux
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: February 23rd, 2007, 02:32 AM
  4. Jenn-air electric range temp and convection problems
    By flecklc in forum Maytag/Magic Chef/Admiral/Jenn-Air
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: November 18th, 2006, 01:17 AM
  5. Montgomery Ward Tappan Electric Range
    By radiant_truth in forum Frigidaire/Tappan/Electrolux
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: May 31st, 2005, 01:56 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
If you feel that you have benefited from this site, and would like to show your appreciation, you can throw a buck or two in the Appliance Blog Tip Jar - Thank you!
Facebook Page: ApplianceBlog Twitter: ApplianceBlog Google+ YouTube: ApplianceBlog