Social Buttons
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21

Thread: [FIXED] Yet another F11 problem

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Oregon
    Posts
    11

    Unhappy [FIXED] Yet another F11 problem

    Hi There,

    I just found this site while doing some Google searching.

    We have a Whirlpool Duet GHW9300PW that keeps having a F11 Error.

    I have found that the code is a communication error between the MCU and the CCU.

    I have a repair guy scheduled for tomorrow afternoon, but after reading numerous posts on the net about the repair guys not being to efficient on diagnosing and fixing the problem on the first trip out I am kind of leaning towards just ordering a new CCU and seeing if that fixes the problem.

    We just got back from a 2 week camping trip and we have lots of laundry to do. The washer is torn apart with all the access panels off right now. I tried disconnecting and reconnecting all the connectors on the CCU and MCU and the motor and that didn't help.

    TIA for any help

    Joe

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    McMullen Valley, Arizona
    Posts
    69,370

    Default

    Hi,

    Error Code F11
    Possible Causes / Procedure
    1. Unplug washer or disconnect power.
    2. Check wire harness connections to the MCU, the motor, and
    Central Control Unit (CCU).
    3. Check the drive system for any worn or failed components.
    4. Plug in washer or reconnect power.
    5. Verify CCU operation by running a Diagnostic test or any
    cycle.
    6. Check the MCU by looking for operations of the drive motor.
    7. Check the drive motor for powered rotations
    8. Check that the serial harness at the MCU is not mounted
    upside down. The wires should be to the left when facing the
    MCU connectors.

    Here's the tech. data sheet, it tells you how to put it in diagnostics mode:
    http://www.servicematters.com/docs/w...%208182208.pdf

    Here's the CCU for your model, in case you need to order it:
    Manufacturer's Number: 8182789

    duetowner has a good thread here about the F11 issue, and what he did to fix his in his last post, I'd try that first:
    http://www.applianceblog.com/mainfor...ad.php?t=10666

    Jake
    Appliance Repair School 1987-1988
    Star Appliance Tech. 2 yrs. 1988-1990
    Wards Appliance Tech. 11 yrs. 1990-2001
    Sears Appliance Tech. 4 yrs. 2001-Oct. 2005
    Jake's Appliance Repair Nov. 2005-present

    Look-Up & Order Parts

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Oregon
    Posts
    11

    Default

    I have this tech sheet at home, but I don't have the prewash option or the rinse hold button.


    Push PREWASH OPTION four times within five seconds. (If
    PREWASH OPTION is not present on this model, press RINSE
    HOLD four times within five seconds.) C:00 will light up on the
    display.
    If the Starting procedure fails, push the PAUSE/CANCEL touch-pad,
    then repeat the starting procedure.



    I clicked on your other link and I will look for socks, although we check after each load below the rubber boot.

    I'm kind of thinking about cancelling the appointment with the repair guy and just ordering a CCU. I can hear it clicking pretty loudly, is that normal?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    McMullen Valley, Arizona
    Posts
    69,370

    Default

    Does it seem to be clicking louder than before?

    Also there should be another number after the W in your model#. The model# tag is located inside the door.

    Jake
    Appliance Repair School 1987-1988
    Star Appliance Tech. 2 yrs. 1988-1990
    Wards Appliance Tech. 11 yrs. 1990-2001
    Sears Appliance Tech. 4 yrs. 2001-Oct. 2005
    Jake's Appliance Repair Nov. 2005-present

    Look-Up & Order Parts

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Oregon
    Posts
    11

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Jake View Post
    Does it seem to be clicking louder than before?

    Also there should be another number after the W in your model#. The model# tag is located inside the door.

    Jake

    Yes there is, but I have to check when I get home.

    This model # is what Standard told me I had over the phone yesterday when I called them. They have all my info on record. Does that last number make a difference when ordering parts?

    I can't say for sure if it's louder then before, the dryer is stacked on top of it so it's kind of covered and I think that insulates the sound.

    The way I see it is I pay the repair guy the $130 for labor and service call + parts or for that amount of money I could buy a CCU and an MCU and replace them. Hoping that one of those fixes the problem.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    McMullen Valley, Arizona
    Posts
    69,370

    Default

    Yes, that number after the W is very important to make sure you get the correct CCU for your model.

    If your dryer is stacked on your washer, you'll need help taking the dryer off your washer, as thats were the CCU is located, under the top panel of your washer.

    Jake
    Appliance Repair School 1987-1988
    Star Appliance Tech. 2 yrs. 1988-1990
    Wards Appliance Tech. 11 yrs. 1990-2001
    Sears Appliance Tech. 4 yrs. 2001-Oct. 2005
    Jake's Appliance Repair Nov. 2005-present

    Look-Up & Order Parts

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Oregon
    Posts
    11

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Jake View Post
    Yes, that number after the W is very important to make sure you get the correct CCU for your model.

    If your dryer is stacked on your washer, you'll need help taking the dryer off your washer, as thats were the CCU is located, under the top panel of your washer.

    Jake

    I took the dryer off last night and also unplugged all the connectors on the CCU and the MCU, then plugged them back in. It didn't help.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    McMullen Valley, Arizona
    Posts
    69,370

    Default

    Ok, then I would just need the last number after the W in the model# to get you the proper CCU.

    Jake
    Appliance Repair School 1987-1988
    Star Appliance Tech. 2 yrs. 1988-1990
    Wards Appliance Tech. 11 yrs. 1990-2001
    Sears Appliance Tech. 4 yrs. 2001-Oct. 2005
    Jake's Appliance Repair Nov. 2005-present

    Look-Up & Order Parts

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Oregon
    Posts
    11

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Jake View Post
    Ok, then I would just need the last number after the W in the model# to get you the proper CCU.

    Jake

    The last number is either a O or a 0.

    I also cleaned out the screen before the pump that's down on the front middle bottom of the machine. Like in that other thread you gave me the link to there were some kids socks in it. I took those out and ran a "Heavy duty" cycle with nothing in the washer and it ran without error.

    I am now running a big load of towels on the "Sanitize" cycle to kinda test and see if it helped.

    If it errors out I will order the CCU, if it doesn't I will keep running some loads through it tonight and see how it goes before I put the covers back on and restack it.

    Thanks, Joe

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    McMullen Valley, Arizona
    Posts
    69,370

    Default

    Oh, so you did find some kids socks in yours too? You may have justed fixed it.

    Fingers crossed.

    The number after the W in your model# is a 0.

    Here's the CCU board for your model, in case you need to order it:
    Manufacturer's Number: 8182308
    icon
    icon
    icon8182308

    Jake
    Appliance Repair School 1987-1988
    Star Appliance Tech. 2 yrs. 1988-1990
    Wards Appliance Tech. 11 yrs. 1990-2001
    Sears Appliance Tech. 4 yrs. 2001-Oct. 2005
    Jake's Appliance Repair Nov. 2005-present

    Look-Up & Order Parts

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. How to Repair HE3T F11 / DL Error Problem
    By desultorypolemic in forum Sears Kenmore
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: June 12th, 2012, 04:49 PM
  2. kenmore elite he3t f 11 error
    By tkshoe in forum Sears Kenmore
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: October 16th, 2007, 11:08 AM
  3. Replies: 3
    Last Post: September 15th, 2007, 01:27 PM
  4. GE SxS defrost problem..Likely solved, thanks
    By Labonte18 in forum GE/Hotpoint
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: September 7th, 2007, 02:02 PM
  5. KSRX25FNST01 Diffuser Problem?
    By CajunFrog in forum KitchenAid
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: August 22nd, 2006, 11:43 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
If you feel that you have benefited from this site, and would like to show your appreciation, you can throw a buck or two in the Appliance Blog Tip Jar - Thank you!
Facebook Page: ApplianceBlog Twitter: ApplianceBlog Google+ YouTube: ApplianceBlog