Social Buttons
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Kitchenaid Stove: Power Light Reset

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    9

    Default Kitchenaid Stove: Power Light Reset

    I have a Kitchenaid Superba Selectra stove, Model #KERC507YAL4 Type 30P. There are four power lights on the control panel, one for each on/off temperature knob. One of the lights stays on all the time. It was caused a short circuit many years ago when my wife was trying to replace the glass cooktop surface. Everything works fine including this stove that has the light on. I am wondering if there is a way to reset this power light. It is not a big deal, just seems a bit annoying. TIA.

    Alan
    San Diego

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    McMullen Valley, Arizona
    Posts
    69,860

    Default

    Which burner light stays on?

    There isn't any reset, its likely the burner assembly would need to be changed.

    Jake
    Appliance Repair School 1987-1988
    Star Appliance Tech. 2 yrs. 1988-1990
    Wards Appliance Tech. 11 yrs. 1990-2001
    Sears Appliance Tech. 4 yrs. 2001-Oct. 2005
    Jake's Appliance Repair Nov. 2005-present

    Look-Up & Order Parts

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    9

    Default The light is on the lower left side of the on/off dial.

    Jake,
    First of all, my apology for posting on the wrong place and thank you for correcting it for me.

    The light is on the lower left side of the on/off and temperature control dial. There are four of them. It turns on when a burner turns on, supposedly. However, one of those lights stays on even though the burner is off. This is because there was a short circuit. The short circuit condition was caused by my wife trying to replace the glass surface and she accidentally touched some hot wire, I think. That particular burner itself works perfectly fine except the indicator light stays on. We tried to cycle the power, but that didn't seem to reset the indicator.

    Last edited by shadow2556; March 5th, 2009 at 04:08 PM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    McMullen Valley, Arizona
    Posts
    69,860

    Default

    Thanks,

    Yes, then you'd need to replace the left front burner assembly, that controls the indicator light.

    Here's the one for your model:
    Manufacturer part number 8203528 is RepairClinic item number 1018196
    8203528

    Jake
    Appliance Repair School 1987-1988
    Star Appliance Tech. 2 yrs. 1988-1990
    Wards Appliance Tech. 11 yrs. 1990-2001
    Sears Appliance Tech. 4 yrs. 2001-Oct. 2005
    Jake's Appliance Repair Nov. 2005-present

    Look-Up & Order Parts

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    9

    Default Is there a diagram or instruction somewhere?

    Jake,
    Thanks for the great information. I am in the process of ordering that part. Do you happen to know any diagram or instruction on how to replace the burner assembly? What I need the most is how to get to the burner. Thanks again.

    Alan
    San Diego, CA

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    McMullen Valley, Arizona
    Posts
    69,860

    Default

    Hi Alan,

    I couldn't locate the repair manual for this model, but didn't you say in your first post that your wife replaced the glasstop?

    You basically have to take the glasstop off to get to the burners underneath. Make sure your home breaker is off to your range first before taking it off!

    The glasstop should just be held in place with brackets/screws around it.

    Jake
    Appliance Repair School 1987-1988
    Star Appliance Tech. 2 yrs. 1988-1990
    Wards Appliance Tech. 11 yrs. 1990-2001
    Sears Appliance Tech. 4 yrs. 2001-Oct. 2005
    Jake's Appliance Repair Nov. 2005-present

    Look-Up & Order Parts

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    9

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Jake View Post
    Hi Alan,

    ... but didn't you say in your first post that your wife replaced the glasstop? ...
    Jake,
    Yes, the WIFE did many years ago and she STRONGLY recommends me not to do it again I can't help and I'll give it a shot when the unit comes. Thanks again.

    Alan

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    McMullen Valley, Arizona
    Posts
    69,860

    Default

    Yea, its not the funniest or easiest job to do on a glasstop range, thats for sure.

    Jake
    Appliance Repair School 1987-1988
    Star Appliance Tech. 2 yrs. 1988-1990
    Wards Appliance Tech. 11 yrs. 1990-2001
    Sears Appliance Tech. 4 yrs. 2001-Oct. 2005
    Jake's Appliance Repair Nov. 2005-present

    Look-Up & Order Parts

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    9

    Default Replaced the burner assembly but the light stays on

    Jake,
    I finally replaced the LF burner assembly and it was much easier than I thought. However, the red light stays on afterwards. The burner itself works perfectly. The old one had some cracks on the side and it needed to be replaced anyway. Now, any other thoughts on what might also be wrong with the light? Thanks.

    Alan

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    McMullen Valley, Arizona
    Posts
    69,860

    Default

    Thats odd, I've replaced many of the burners for this same issue and its always fixed the problem.

    Possibly the burner switch has a short in it causing the light to stay on.

    Manufacturer part number 9750641 is RepairClinic item number 747768
    9750641

    Jake
    Appliance Repair School 1987-1988
    Star Appliance Tech. 2 yrs. 1988-1990
    Wards Appliance Tech. 11 yrs. 1990-2001
    Sears Appliance Tech. 4 yrs. 2001-Oct. 2005
    Jake's Appliance Repair Nov. 2005-present

    Look-Up & Order Parts

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Kitchenaid KUDS01FLSS2 flashing normal light
    By bikerider in forum KitchenAid
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: April 7th, 2008, 11:51 AM
  2. kitchenaid kudm01tjbl0 stopped in mid cycle no power
    By drew carlino in forum KitchenAid
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: November 18th, 2007, 03:28 PM
  3. KitchenAid lost power during wash cycle
    By rickorachi in forum KitchenAid
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: July 9th, 2007, 12:39 PM
  4. Washer won't reset after power outage
    By mahfuz in forum Sears Kenmore
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: April 20th, 2006, 12:26 PM
  5. Hotpoint Ceramic - No power to burners or stove
    By rb787w in forum GE/Hotpoint
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: April 3rd, 2006, 12:36 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
If you feel that you have benefited from this site, and would like to show your appreciation, you can throw a buck or two in the Appliance Blog Tip Jar - Thank you!
Facebook Page: ApplianceBlog Twitter: ApplianceBlog Google+ YouTube: ApplianceBlog