Social Buttons
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: Duet WED9200SQ1 electric- bad control board?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Upstate SC
    Posts
    6

    Default Duet WED9200SQ1 electric- bad control board?

    Model Number: WED9200SQ1
    Brand: Whirlpool
    Age: 1-5 years

    Howdy- Found your forum w/Google search. My dryer blew the thermal fuse. Ran the diagnostic routine, no errors. Since my electrical service panel is within arm's reach of the dryer, decided to jumper across the thermal fuse and see what was happening. Turned the dryer on a manual cycle with temp control set to "Air Only", and the heater coil is coming on full-blast, so obviously the heater isn't being regulated. Is there anything this could be besides a control board issue? Thanks much.

    John

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    McMullen Valley, Arizona
    Posts
    69,394

    Default

    Hi John,

    It sounds like to me your heating element is grounded causing it to come on in air-only, when it shouldn't be.

    Its likely the heating wire may have broken and is now touching the heater housing.

    You would need to take off the lower front access panel under your door, then take off the duct assembly#45, by removing the two #11 screws: Bulkhead parts for Whirlpool WED9200SQ1 - AppliancePartsPros.com


    Then the heating element is #14 and the heater housing is #49. You have to remove #41 the shield first.

    Unplug your dryer first before taking it out to check it.

    Here's the heating element for your model if you need to order it:
    Manufacturer part number 8544771 is RepairClinic item number 1180054



    Jake
    Appliance Repair School 1987-1988
    Star Appliance Tech. 2 yrs. 1988-1990
    Wards Appliance Tech. 11 yrs. 1990-2001
    Sears Appliance Tech. 4 yrs. 2001-Oct. 2005
    Jake's Appliance Repair Nov. 2005-present

    Look-Up & Order Parts

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Upstate SC
    Posts
    6

    Default

    Hi Jake, thanks for the reply.

    Before taking the heater out, I decided to check resistance from the coil to ground, got about 40K ohms (without unhooking any wires). Would this be enough continuity to allow the coil to pass current? Thanks.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    McMullen Valley, Arizona
    Posts
    69,394

    Default

    Yes, so thats the issue.

    Jake
    Appliance Repair School 1987-1988
    Star Appliance Tech. 2 yrs. 1988-1990
    Wards Appliance Tech. 11 yrs. 1990-2001
    Sears Appliance Tech. 4 yrs. 2001-Oct. 2005
    Jake's Appliance Repair Nov. 2005-present

    Look-Up & Order Parts

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Upstate SC
    Posts
    6

    Default

    Well- unfortunately, no. I pulled the power wires off the heater terminal block and then read the coil to ground-- no continuity. Tracked it to the heater relay on the control board- it reads zero ohms across the terminals- supposed to be normally open. So, there's a new control board in my future (unless I can find just the relay itself- looks easy to replace on the board).

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    McMullen Valley, Arizona
    Posts
    69,394

    Default

    Ok, I misread I thought you took the wires off the heater first.

    I don't see where you can buy just the heater relay separately.

    Here's the control board for your model you can order here: Manufacturer's Number: W10174745


    Jake
    Appliance Repair School 1987-1988
    Star Appliance Tech. 2 yrs. 1988-1990
    Wards Appliance Tech. 11 yrs. 1990-2001
    Sears Appliance Tech. 4 yrs. 2001-Oct. 2005
    Jake's Appliance Repair Nov. 2005-present

    Look-Up & Order Parts

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Upstate SC
    Posts
    6

    Default

    Thanks... I found the relay at Mouser online- being one of the cheapest humans on the planet, I'm gonna try the $10 (shipped) fix first. It should be here mid-week- I'll report back.

    Thanks again.

    John

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    McMullen Valley, Arizona
    Posts
    69,394

    Default

    Ok John, yes keep us posted.

    Jake
    Appliance Repair School 1987-1988
    Star Appliance Tech. 2 yrs. 1988-1990
    Wards Appliance Tech. 11 yrs. 1990-2001
    Sears Appliance Tech. 4 yrs. 2001-Oct. 2005
    Jake's Appliance Repair Nov. 2005-present

    Look-Up & Order Parts

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Upstate SC
    Posts
    6

    Default

    Well, the relay didn't fix it- now the heater doesn't cut on at all, instead of going full-blast constantly. The new relay is normally open as it's supposed to be, and works fine with 12 volts applied to the primary, as it should (tested w/12VDC power supply), but the computer is only delivering 6.65 volts to the primary, so the secondary isn't closing, and the heater circuit is staying open (should have checked the primary voltage before). Tested all of the thermal cutoff sensors and they're all in spec, so I guess it's a new control board after all. Bummer. Right before vacation, too.

    Oh, well.
    Last edited by Hackster; August 25th, 2011 at 07:00 PM.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    McMullen Valley, Arizona
    Posts
    69,394

    Default

    Yup, the new control board will fix it.

    Jake
    Appliance Repair School 1987-1988
    Star Appliance Tech. 2 yrs. 1988-1990
    Wards Appliance Tech. 11 yrs. 1990-2001
    Sears Appliance Tech. 4 yrs. 2001-Oct. 2005
    Jake's Appliance Repair Nov. 2005-present

    Look-Up & Order Parts

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 8
    Last Post: July 15th, 2011, 10:22 PM
  2. Do I Really Need a New Control Board?
    By ar1zona1 in forum Whirlpool/KitchenAid/Roper/Estate
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: January 17th, 2011, 08:18 PM
  3. MayTag Precision Touch Control 700 Electric Smooth Top Control Panel
    By chris.c2005 in forum Maytag/Magic Chef/Admiral/Jenn-Air
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: November 3rd, 2008, 12:15 AM
  4. duet ghw9400 CCU board
    By st00ge in forum Whirlpool/KitchenAid/Roper/Estate
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: February 27th, 2008, 06:11 PM
  5. how to change a control panel AND a control board
    By corkyone in forum Sears Kenmore
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: April 29th, 2006, 01:17 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
If you feel that you have benefited from this site, and would like to show your appreciation, you can throw a buck or two in the Appliance Blog Tip Jar - Thank you!
Facebook Page: ApplianceBlog Twitter: ApplianceBlog Google+ YouTube: ApplianceBlog