Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Frigidaire Washer (FTF2140FS1) "Normal" Cycle not Working

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Edmonton
    Posts
    2

    Default Frigidaire Washer (FTF2140FS1) "Normal" Cycle not Working

    Model Number: FTF2140FS1
    Brand: Frigidaire
    Age: 1-5 years

    Hey everyone,

    My Frigidaire Washer (FTF2140FS1) has been acting a little strange lately. For some reason, out of the blue, the "Normal" cycle that we usually leave use has stopped working. When I press the start button the door locks but nothing else happens.

    The weird thing is that all the other cycles seem to work without a problem. We have been washing our clothes now on the "Sport" and "Heavy" cycles, but I would like to fix this if at all possible.

    With the help of posters on this board I learned how to fix a non-draining washer, so now I hope I can get some help with my next problem.

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    McMullen Valley, Arizona
    Posts
    68,410

    Default

    Ok, check for an error code first.

    Here's the repair manual for your model: www.applianceblog.com/manuals/5995413084_Washer_2004.pdf

    You have the "GOOD" model(non-digital display). So an error code will be read with the flashing lights you count.

    Read page 10 of that repair manual.

    Let us know.

    But it sounds like the main control board is bad since its happening to only that NORMAL cycle thats not working.

    Here's the control board for your model:
    Frigidaire 137005000 Control Board - AppliancePartsPros.com


    Jake
    Appliance Repair School 1987-1988
    Star Appliance Tech. 2 yrs. 1988-1990
    Wards Appliance Tech. 11 yrs. 1990-2001
    Sears Appliance Tech. 4 yrs. 2001-Oct. 2005
    Jake's Appliance Repair Nov. 2005-present

    Look-Up & Order Parts

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Edmonton
    Posts
    2

    Default

    Thanks Jake!

    I will try this once I get home from work today or tomorrow, and I'll let you know how things go.

    Thanks again, talk to you soon.
    Kevin

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    McMullen Valley, Arizona
    Posts
    68,410

    Default

    Ok Kevin, sounds good.

    Jake
    Appliance Repair School 1987-1988
    Star Appliance Tech. 2 yrs. 1988-1990
    Wards Appliance Tech. 11 yrs. 1990-2001
    Sears Appliance Tech. 4 yrs. 2001-Oct. 2005
    Jake's Appliance Repair Nov. 2005-present

    Look-Up & Order Parts

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    1

    Default

    Hi Onemachado,

    I do not know if you have fixed your washer so I will post this for you and any others who will encounter the same thing. I received the following fix that worked for my Affinity washer. Turn the washer display on by rotating the knob to any cycle, press and hold the spin speed and soil level buttons at the same time until the display reads 'Restore default'. Wallah, you have now reset the board to factory settings and your normal wash should now work! You may have to unplug the washer afterwards, wait a couple of minutes and plug back in. I did not have to unplug for my fix to work but the tech said sometimes you have to perform the second step too.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    San Jose CA
    Posts
    1

    Default

    On my Frigidaire Affinity (FAFW4011LW) washer, the technique that works is:

    1. Turn the dial to the wash mode that is not working (temperature/spin settings disabled).

    2. Press and hold the spin speed and options buttons. After a few seconds, the LED display shows "Cln". Press "Start".

    The temp and spin speed selections should be reenabled at this point.

    Quote Originally Posted by onemachado View Post
    Hey everyone,

    My Frigidaire Washer (FTF2140FS1) has been acting a little strange lately. For some reason, out of the blue, the "Normal" cycle that we usually leave use has stopped working. When I press the start button the door locks but nothing else happens.

    The weird thing is that all the other cycles seem to work without a problem. We have been washing our clothes now on the "Sport" and "Heavy" cycles, but I would like to fix this if at all possible.

    With the help of posters on this board I learned how to fix a non-draining washer, so now I hope I can get some help with my next problem.

    Thanks!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    1

    Default

    i just wanted to thank you guys , for about 7 months my regular cycle stopped working , and today my casual cycle stopped . so i decided to look online and figure out what was going on. i did what you guys said and i was shocked and amazed...it worked. my hubby was about to throw the thing out. i am so very happy i found this forum, it really was a great help... thank you thank you thank you

Similar Threads

  1. "Light Wash" cycle not working; others O.K.
    By camaditz in forum Maytag/Magic Chef/Admiral/Jenn-Air
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: June 27th, 2011, 11:12 PM
  2. Replies: 6
    Last Post: December 28th, 2010, 11:17 PM
  3. Dishwasher keeps cycling or Blinking "Normal" Light
    By ngreiner in forum Whirlpool/Roper/Estate
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: November 30th, 2010, 07:13 PM
  4. Kitchenaid KUDS01DLWH3 blinking "normal" button
    By JReisland001 in forum KitchenAid
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: November 30th, 2008, 07:07 PM
  5. GE Triton GSD5130D02WW "Normal" light flashing and beeping.
    By Dread Pirate Roberts in forum GE/Hotpoint
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: September 28th, 2006, 04:47 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
If you feel that you have benefited from this site, and would like to show your appreciation, you can throw a buck or two in the Appliance Blog Tip Jar - Thank you!
Facebook Page: ApplianceBlog Twitter: ApplianceBlog Google+ YouTube: ApplianceBlog