Social Buttons
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: F3 code repair on Kenmore oven

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Dresden, Ohio
    Posts
    6

    Default F3 code repair on Kenmore oven

    Looks like I have a common problem with the Kenmore built in oven. I'm getting the f3 code frequently, but not constantly and once I have received the f2 code. I found out the f3 code was the temperature sensor. From the manual it looks like I have to remove the oven box to get at the sensor connection. However after unscrewing all the screws along the front of the oven, the box starts to come out but catches. I'm afraid to really force it. Any suggestions? the oven is a Kenmore 24" dual built in oven, Model # 911.4132991

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    McMullen Valley, Arizona
    Posts
    69,894

    Default

    Hi,

    I have changed a few of these, I usually don't have to pull the oven out from the wall, I usually just unscrew the sensor assembly itself from inside of the oven, then gently pull the electrical wire connection through that hole were the oven sensor mounts.

    Jake
    Appliance Repair School 1987-1988
    Star Appliance Tech. 2 yrs. 1988-1990
    Wards Appliance Tech. 11 yrs. 1990-2001
    Sears Appliance Tech. 4 yrs. 2001-Oct. 2005
    Jake's Appliance Repair Nov. 2005-present

    Look-Up & Order Parts

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Dresden, Ohio
    Posts
    6

    Default

    I was hoping it would be that simple. I'll try again tomorrow and let you know what happens.

    Thanks
    Paul

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    McMullen Valley, Arizona
    Posts
    69,894

    Default

    Ok Paul, sounds good, let us know how it goes!

    Jake
    Appliance Repair School 1987-1988
    Star Appliance Tech. 2 yrs. 1988-1990
    Wards Appliance Tech. 11 yrs. 1990-2001
    Sears Appliance Tech. 4 yrs. 2001-Oct. 2005
    Jake's Appliance Repair Nov. 2005-present

    Look-Up & Order Parts

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Dresden, Ohio
    Posts
    6

    Default

    I'll try this again. I just wiped out my reply when I tried to attach a picture of the sensor. I'll finish this post and try to send the picture in the next one so at least you'll get my post. I unscrewed the sensor and tried to pull it out as far as I could. I did not get to any type of plug in connection. I got maybe 5"-6" of wire before I was pulling on it and getting now where. Any further ideas?

    If I get luck the next post will have a picture.

    Thanks
    Paul

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Dresden, Ohio
    Posts
    6

    Default

    Hopefully, I did this right. There should be an oven picture on here somewhere.

    PAul
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Oven 001.jpg 
Views:	680 
Size:	31.4 KB 
ID:	245  

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    McMullen Valley, Arizona
    Posts
    69,894

    Default

    Good Photo!

    Ok, some have connectors, some don't that you can get to from the front.

    If i can't get to the connector, i turn the breaker off to the oven, then snip of the end of the wires(near the sensor probe)with wire cutters.

    Here is the new sensor for your model you can order, it comes with 2 cermatic wire nuts to connect it:
    Appliance Repair School 1987-1988
    Star Appliance Tech. 2 yrs. 1988-1990
    Wards Appliance Tech. 11 yrs. 1990-2001
    Sears Appliance Tech. 4 yrs. 2001-Oct. 2005
    Jake's Appliance Repair Nov. 2005-present

    Look-Up & Order Parts

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Dresden, Ohio
    Posts
    6

    Default

    Thanks again Jake. I've got the part on order so I'll check back in a few days to let you know how it works out.

    Paul

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    McMullen Valley, Arizona
    Posts
    69,894

    Default

    Sounds good Paul.

    Jake
    Appliance Repair School 1987-1988
    Star Appliance Tech. 2 yrs. 1988-1990
    Wards Appliance Tech. 11 yrs. 1990-2001
    Sears Appliance Tech. 4 yrs. 2001-Oct. 2005
    Jake's Appliance Repair Nov. 2005-present

    Look-Up & Order Parts

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Dresden, Ohio
    Posts
    6

    Default

    I got the sensor today and wired it up, but it tripped off on an F3 again. I thought maybe the computer might need reset so I shut the breaker off for a minute and turned it back on. I set the oven for 200 and it seemed to work fine. Then I set it for 300 and as soon as it got to 300 I got the F3 error again. I can't return the sensor now that I cut the leads off. Do you have any other ideas that might not be as expensive. If I have to spend much more I should probably just bite the bullet and call the repairman. BY the way these ovens are at least 10 years old and maybe closer to 12.

    Thanks again for the help.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 1
    Last Post: March 18th, 2007, 07:18 AM
  2. Kenmore F7 code double oven on both. X2
    By kimmy in forum Sears Kenmore
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: December 10th, 2006, 11:30 AM
  3. Replies: 3
    Last Post: January 11th, 2006, 03:20 PM
  4. Kenmore Electric Dual Oven Error Code F0
    By keystone in forum Sears Kenmore
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: December 19th, 2005, 09:24 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
If you feel that you have benefited from this site, and would like to show your appreciation, you can throw a buck or two in the Appliance Blog Tip Jar - Thank you!
Facebook Page: ApplianceBlog Twitter: ApplianceBlog Google+ YouTube: ApplianceBlog