106.56989602 Kenmore Coldspot not cooling

lksdgirl619

Premium Member
Model Number
Brand
Sears Kenmore
Help! Kenmore Coldspot S/S Model 106.56989602, refrigerator is not cooling at all. Freezer seems to be intermittent. I cleared the space in front of the fridge vents, and cleared frost from freezer vents. It seemed to help initially, but now back to no cooling.

lksdgirl619

Premium Member
I'm sorry I'm a real novice. I hear a sound which I thought was the fan. It was blowing cold air into the vent at the top of the refrigerator, but doesn't seem to be now. How would I check the fan and the compressor? I apologize for what may be a dumb question. My dear husband used to check these things, but now it's me...yikes

rickgburton

Appliance Tech - Moderator
Staff member
You'll need to pull the machine away from the wall and remove the cover over the machine compartment. If the compressor is running (put your hand on top of it and feel for the vibration) the condensor fan motor next to it should also be running. Make sure the condensor coils are clean and not packed with dust. The evaporator fan motor is above the evaporator in the freezer section. Look for any frost on the evaporator cover (freezer section back wall) indicating a possible defrost issue.
REF-01_001.jpg

lksdgirl619

Premium Member
Thanks for the diagram, very helpful. There definitely frost on the evaporator cover, I took the cover off and there was some small ice chunks that fell down. Now I am taking off the back part to check on the compressor stuff.. I'll let you know what I find. Thanks..

rickgburton

Staff member
You have what sounds like a defrost problem. can you take a picture of the evaporator and post it here? Leave the machine plugged in and running. When you remove the evaporator cover check if the fan is working.

rickgburton

Staff member