110.15842400 Kenmore washer stopped spinning, burnt smell

Sharptack

Premium Member
Model Number
Brand
Sears Kenmore
Hey Jake, I have a topload Kenmore Series 80 washer about 10 years old (it came with the house, so a guess) that stopped spinning, but smells like something burning...and I don't think it has a belt. I looked at the posts and there seemed to be several opinions: pump, coupler, switch, etc. What in your expert opinion shouid be my next step? (I am a relative novice and can't check capacitance.) Thanks.

Last edited by a moderator:

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Hi Sharptack,

We would need your model number first, the model number tag is located under the lid.

Does it drain all the water out first, then won't spin? When it tries to spin is there any humming sound you hear from the motor?

Jake

Sharptack

Premium Member
Thanks for your prompt response, Jake! The model number is 110.15842400 and yes, it drained the water first and then would not spin. We could hear noise from the motor and then again smell the "burning" odor.

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Thanks,

Lets first check your motor coupler and see if its worn out or the plastic fingers on it have broken.

Here's the motor coupling for your model:
Motor Coupling 285753A

There is a Video included in part link, that shows you how to access/replace it.

Let us know how it goes.

Jake

Sharptack

Premium Member
Well Jake,
I finally got the motor off and the coupler and plastic tri-fingers look to be in good condition.
The sound dampener ring appears to be twisted and slid down a bit; but, I don't think that is related to my issue.
Any other ideas? (Hoping you won't say, "Time for a new washer!"...LoL

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Ok,

While the motor is off, Can you turn the transmission shaft with the coupler by hand? If not the transmission is locked. Try to turn it both ways.

Here's the transmission for your model:
Transmission 3360629