• Please note, some of the links on our site are affiliate links (Learn More)

FIXED 110.47532602 Kenmore HE2 Plus - Error code f28

credential

Model Number
Brand
Sears Kenmore
Good day! I should preface my note by saying that I am quite a newbie here. Fixing appliances is not what I do for a living, but through the help of people like you, I have already managed to prolong the life of a dishwasher and fridge!

I am inquiring on an error code F28 for my 5.5 year old Kenmore HE2 Plus Washing machine (model 110.47532602), purchased new in the summer of 2007. I would say that about 6 months ago, the washer gave an F28 error code during a wash. After powering down, the message code disappeared and things worked again. It happened again about 2 months, but this weekend, it has come back 4-5 times. In all recent cases, I could not get the washing machine to power off after receiving the error message, and I had to turn off power from the electrical panel. The machine would work again for a load or two, but then the error message come back. The error just came back after the first fast spin cycle (I believe this is right before the rinse cycle. I can't seem to get through a load without the error now.

In reading through this great forum, I've discovered that it's likely a communication between the MCU and CCU (although, as a newbie, that's a little technical for me). Here's what I've done so far:

1) took off the lower panel and cleared out the catch drain (there were a few items in there)
2) ran the built in diagnostic test (holding and releasing a button for 4 seconds, etc.) Only error that appeared was the F28. It kept blinking this over and over and over until I hit another button and the machine turned off)