• Please note, some of the links on our site are affiliate links (Learn More)

FIXED 110.49962600 Kenmore Elite HE Washer stops mid-cycle and flashes display

Status
Not open for further replies.

Charles Reese

Premium Member
Joined
Feb 19, 2019
Messages
8
Location
Dallas, TX
Model Number
110.49962600
Brand
Sears Kenmore
Age
More than 10 years
The washer stops and flashes the remaining time right after starting up or later on in the cycle. Will not resume until opening and closing the door and hitting start, sometimes multiple times required. No error codes are coming up.
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
105,982
Location
McMullen Valley, Arizona
Hi Charles,

Before we help you on this one, can you please update the one I helped you on here first:

Thanks!

Jake
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
105,982
Location
McMullen Valley, Arizona
Thanks Charles for updating your other thread.:)

It sounds like your door latch switch is going bad.

Here's the door latch switch assembly for your model:
WP8183270 Door Latch Assembly


Rick posted how to test it in post #2 here:

ALSO--->Make sure the door strike, that's on the door, where it goes into the door latch when you close the door is not broken.

Here's the door strike for your model below, you can see in the photo how it should look:
WPW10217552 Strike


Jake
 

Charles Reese

Premium Member
Joined
Feb 19, 2019
Messages
8
Location
Dallas, TX
I’m not sure this was the right part. The one I pulled out looks very different. The small connector also seems to have different contacts.
I ended up putting the old one back in for now.

98A24C20-9429-4C34-9F20-BC774DE4B218.jpeg
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
105,982
Location
McMullen Valley, Arizona
I'm not understanding? Did you ohm test it first?

The door latch assembly I posted above is for your model.:)

Jake
 

Charles Reese

Premium Member
Joined
Feb 19, 2019
Messages
8
Location
Dallas, TX
I did not ohm it out, I missed that part of the answer and had already ordered the part. Also, the washer works most of the time, the failure is very intermittent. Would that affect the measurement?

I attached a picture of the different contacts for the small connectors. The new one is clearly two male pins, and the other is some kind of crossbar? Are those compatible? Anyway, when I connected the new switch, the washer would not start a cycle at all, it just beeped like the door was open. Once I put the old one back in, all was fine again.

After we (hopefully) finish laundry this week I will open it back up again and take the measurements.
 

Attachments

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
105,982
Location
McMullen Valley, Arizona
I'm still not understanding.

What new one? I thought the new door latch is still on order to your house?

If you already got the new door latch assembly did you order it from my link to it above?

Jake
 

Charles Reese

Premium Member
Joined
Feb 19, 2019
Messages
8
Location
Dallas, TX
Yes, I ordered the new part directly from the link you provided. I received it a few days ago. The pictures I attached above show the new part and the old part. When I took the old part out I noticed it was different, including the one connector that didn’t seem to fit very well in the new switch, so I added a picture of that also.

In both pictures, the new part is on top, the old part is on the bottom.
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
105,982
Location
McMullen Valley, Arizona
Ok, then they sent you the wrong one, contact AppliancePartsPros and have them send you the one I posted above.

Jake
 

Charles Reese

Premium Member
Joined
Feb 19, 2019
Messages
8
Location
Dallas, TX
Since I unplugged and replugged the original part in my replacement attempt, it has been working perfectly through 6 loads. Perhaps just a loose connection?

Thanks for your help!
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
105,982
Location
McMullen Valley, Arizona
Excellent Charles, yes that sounds like it was the problem. (y)

Its extremely rare to ever see a door switch connection come loose, in fact I don't ever remember seeing one come loose on these front load models.

Thanks for the update!

Jake
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top