• Please note, some of the links on our site are affiliate links (Learn More)

110.60902990 Kenmore 90 series dryer will not start

Muppetmayhem

Premium Member
Model Number
Brand
Sears Kenmore
I have tested the door switch, thermal fuse, thermostat, motor switch, timer, start switch, outlet. Belt is good. Also checked heating coil & thermostats on that even though I am pretty sure that’s not it. Not sure what else to do. The timer ticks when start is pushed, but nothing else. I suspect motor but it spins fine.

Dan O.

Appliance Tech
Staff member
Muppetmayhem said:
I have tested the door switch, thermal fuse, thermostat, motor switch, timer,
How exactly did you test the motor switch and timer and what did you test them for?

Muppetmayhem

Premium Member
So, I am a newbie and have been youtube, etc for help. Testing for continuity.

Timer - removed harness, turned timer off, turned multimeter to ohms, put probes on R & BK & turned timer to 40 minutes.

Motor switch. Attached probes to the outer red wires (top & bottom) after removing wire harness. Pushed back black circle switch to test.

Dan O.

Appliance Tech
Staff member
Muppetmayhem said:
put probes on R & BK
Are those the contacts for the motor circuit? I don't have access to the wiring diagram for that model to verify.

If you could post a copy of the wiring diagram from the dryer it would be helpful.

Muppetmayhem said:
Attached probes to the outer red wires (top & bottom) after removing wire harness. Pushed back black circle switch to test.
I'm not certain what function of the motor switch that is testing. The motor switch has several functions.

Has anyone confirmed if 120 volts is getting to the motor?

Dan O.

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
First reset both circuit breakers. Your dryer uses a 30 amp double circuit breaker. Turn both off and then back on. When checking continuity always remove at least one wire from the component you're checking.