1950 Vintage Kelvinator Fridge FM-R door disassembly?

David Andre

Premium Member
Hi,

I recently acquired a 1950 Kelvinator FM-R fridge in fantastic working condition. The chassis/body and inside of the fridge is in great shape with almost flawless paint - but the door has some "patina" (no dents, just scratched and worn spots in the paint). I would like to repaint the door but to do it correctly I want to take the door apart to remove the chrome handle hardware, decorative trim and plastic trim/badge. I just cannot figure out how to get the inner door skin off to gain access to the inside. How are these doors assembled?

I am an accomplished painter, having painted cars, motorcycles and even a few restored vintage industrial tools. I am trying to match the paint as best as I can to the original white. The original paint seems a bit more of a subtle cream white rather than a stark bright white like the inside of the fridge is. Is there any info out there regarding the type and color of paint these appliances were painted with? White is not just white, you know..:)

Thanks for any help!

Dave

rickgburton

Appliance Tech - Moderator
Staff member
Usually a bunch of screws hold the liner to the door all the way around.
Is there any info out there regarding the type and color of paint
Not that I know of.

David Andre

Premium Member