1954 Philco J848 refrigerator

tgerst

Premium Member
Model Number
J848
IMG-2911.JPG IMG-2912.JPG

This is the Philco I'm working on , it runs but gets too cold20deg in the frig and -20 deg in the freezer .
What would cause this?

Dan O.

Appliance Tech
Staff member
I have no personal knowledge or experience of that model. I would have assumed it was here:

thermostat location.jpg

Dan O.

Dan O.

Appliance Tech
Staff member
tgerst said:
If the thermostat is shot, does anyone sell a replacement thermostat?

I doubt anyone would sell an exact replacement. There might be a slim chance of finding a used one or getting some sort of universal replacement control. If you find the thermostat, get all the numbers printed on it as it is unlikely to be traceable by model number.

Dan O.

Dan O.

Appliance Tech
Staff member
All the relay does is start the compressor. If the refrigerator is getting too cold, compressor must be running.

Dan O.

tgerst

Premium Member
Yes it is running .
The relay was bad and I thought installed a new one correctly , but now the compressor seems warm , I just don't want to burn up anything.

Dan O.

Appliance Tech
Staff member
I would need to see the wiring diagram of the refrigerator. Hopefully it illustrates the compressor therminal identification.

Also, which relay did you install? There are different ones.

Dan O.

Dan O.

Appliance Tech
Staff member
That's not the wiring diagram for that model. Isn't there one on the back of the fridge? If not, you can measure the restistance between the pins on the compressor to determine which is which.

image.jpeg

The highest resistance will be between the Run and Start winding pins. The other pin will be the Common. Tag it. Between the Common and Start winding pin will have the next highest resistance. Between the Common and Run terminal will measure the least resistance. Tag each of them.