• Please note, some of the links on our site are affiliate links (Learn More)

587.14432200 Kenmore (Frigidaire) 18" Dishwasher Spray Arm or...?

Chicago Al

Premium Member
Model Number
Brand
Sears Kenmore
I am a self-taught DIY guy, and I can't believe I have not seen this forum until now! I may become a regular here as I'm always trying to keep our appliances going---including a 30+ year old Maytag washer I just did a (major PITA) snubber pad repair on.

But today the issue is our Kenmore (mfd by Frigidaire) 18" dishwasher. It's never been a great DW, most in that size are not, but it was adequate until a few days ago when we noticed a load that didn't even seem to have been washed. I ran the same load again and a mid-cycle check showed soapy water in the bottom, but no sign of any spray going on. (Normally if you open the door mid-cycle you see the spray mechanism come to a stop and the 'tower' collapse.)

I have opened the DW up and cleaned out/replaced some parts in the past, the impeller I think. This time I saw a problem as soon as I tried to get the spray arm off. The arm is quite loose on the shaft from the diffuser, and I could not get the nut off. In fact the threaded shaft must be stripped where it comes up from the diffuser, as the whole thing is turning. I removed the diffuser and found that the plastic gasket/seal/snapring that acts as kind of a 'bearing' for the spray arm had come loose from the arm and was probably preventing it from turning. So I popped it back in, and now I've reassembled things and it seems to be working more or less normally. When I open the door mid-cycle I do see water coming from the spray arm and the tower collapsing, so that's good, though I'm not sure how much water pressure is getting to the upper rack.

I've got another diffuser coming from repairclinic.com, and I'm sure I can get the nut off the old one.