Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: FIXED: Thin ice after fast ice cycle whirlpool GI15NDXZS

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Location
    TX
    Posts
    3

    Default FIXED: Thin ice after fast ice cycle whirlpool GI15NDXZS

    Model Number: GI15NDXZS
    Brand: Whirlpool
    Age: 1-5 years

    After using the fast ice cycle on my whirlpool GI15NDXZS it is now producing thin ice. Was normal thickness before the fast cycle. I have had it for a little less than 2 years, cleaned it about 6 months ago, it has 2 recently changed filters ahead of it that filter to .5 micron.

    Any suggestions?

    Thanks

    Steve

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    McMullen Valley, Arizona
    Posts
    91,751

    Default

    Hi Steve,

    Sounds like its not filling enough on its own.

    To check that, I always turn the water OFF to the ice machine, then remove the water line to the ice machine then get a bucket or container to catch water in, then put your water line in the bucket or container and turn on the water to see how fast its flowing, should be very strong water pressure, not a weak flow.

    If your water pressure is fine, then the problem is your water inlet valve, that's where your water line hooks up to on your ice machine.

    Here's the water inlet valve for your model you can order, if needed:
    W10881366 Valve


    Let us know what you find.

    Jake
    Appliance Repair School 1987-1988
    Star Appliance Tech. 2 yrs. 1988-1990
    Wards Appliance Tech. 11 yrs. 1990-2001
    Sears Appliance Tech. 4 yrs. 2001-Oct. 2005
    Jake's Appliance Repair Nov. 2005-present

    Look-Up & Order Parts

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Location
    TX
    Posts
    3

    Default

    I know a lot of people find a solution and never come back, I didn't want to be "that guy"
    I tested to see if water flow was fine, it was. It has been 8 months since I cleaned it using the cleaner poured in the reservoir and the clean cycle button. We have hard water so I took all the insides out and cleaned using bleach and CLR on the calcium buildup around the grid. I knew this wasn't the problem but knew it needed to be cleaned. When done cleaning and rinsing out really well I thought "Hey why not put it in diagnostic mode and see if what I get" Somehow the machine had been put in thin ice mode. Not sure how. There were kids here for a birthday party where I used the fast ice feature but other than that I don't think it was done by a human. All is well now.

    Thanks Jake

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    McMullen Valley, Arizona
    Posts
    91,751

    Default

    Excellent Steve, glad that was all it was.

    Yes, you are 100% correct about lots of folks not coming back to update us, and I really do appreciate you coming back to let us and others know what you found, that will help others who may experience this same problem.

    As we like to say here, Paying it Forward is always good Karma.

    Jake
    Appliance Repair School 1987-1988
    Star Appliance Tech. 2 yrs. 1988-1990
    Wards Appliance Tech. 11 yrs. 1990-2001
    Sears Appliance Tech. 4 yrs. 2001-Oct. 2005
    Jake's Appliance Repair Nov. 2005-present

    Look-Up & Order Parts

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Location
    TX
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Forums like these are invaluable and people should show more appreciation ;-)

    I am an electrical contractor by trade and repair electronics as a side hobby. I have grown lazy and having a place like this to do the thinking for me is always good for me....

    Thanks again

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    McMullen Valley, Arizona
    Posts
    91,751

    Default

    Yes Steve, I agree 100%.

    Thanks Again for coming back to update us!

    Jake
    Appliance Repair School 1987-1988
    Star Appliance Tech. 2 yrs. 1988-1990
    Wards Appliance Tech. 11 yrs. 1990-2001
    Sears Appliance Tech. 4 yrs. 2001-Oct. 2005
    Jake's Appliance Repair Nov. 2005-present

    Look-Up & Order Parts

Similar Threads

  1. LT5005XMW0 Whirlpool Thin Twin dies at spin cycle
    By Tosta Dojen in forum Whirlpool/KitchenAid/Roper/Estate
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: November 28th, 2016, 09:33 AM
  2. Whirlpool Thin Twin vibrates excessivly during spin cycle
    By edage in forum Whirlpool/KitchenAid/Roper/Estate
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: May 3rd, 2016, 09:36 PM
  3. Whirlpool Thin Twin stops at spin cycle
    By 2ANGELS in forum Whirlpool/KitchenAid/Roper/Estate
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: March 26th, 2007, 12:53 AM
  4. Whirlpool Thin Twin stops during cycle
    By Zoe in forum Whirlpool/KitchenAid/Roper/Estate
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: July 12th, 2006, 11:25 PM
  5. Whirlpool thin twin rinse cycle fills on all modes but doesn't spin
    By JLE in forum Whirlpool/KitchenAid/Roper/Estate
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: March 1st, 2006, 10:45 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
If you feel that you have benefited from this site, and would like to show your appreciation, you can throw a buck or two in the Appliance Blog Tip Jar - Thank you!