Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Vintage Hotpoint starter/relay not working

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Location
    CA
    Posts
    5

    Default Vintage Hotpoint starter/relay not working

    My starter/relay just clicks but won't turn over. It's all so brittle that I can't repair the old M1A162 (inside relay is identical to a 1057-R1) so have a SR-8141 Start/Run Relay Horsepower: 1/12 - 1/5 HP to replace it with (per antiqueappliances.com advice). Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Hotpoint label.jpg 
Views:	5 
Size:	468.0 KB 
ID:	39288. The coatings to the wires are somewhat fragile so I don't want to have to do a lot trial and error. The cord that runs from the relay to the freezer has green, black and yellow wires. The cord that runs from the relay to the back of the compressor has green, black and yellow wires. The cord that runs to the fan is a brown extension-cord looking 2 wire cord, and of course the main electric core has a white and a black wire. Click image for larger version. 

Name:	CR 1057-1a-relay.jpg 
Views:	7 
Size:	63.1 KB 
ID:	39285]Click image for larger version. 

Name:	CR 1057-1a-relay 2 .jpg 
Views:	4 
Size:	11.9 KB 
ID:	39286 Anyone have a wiring diagram that may help,or some idiot-proof instructions? Thanks in advance for your assistance.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails relay M1A162.jpg  

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Murray, Utah 84107, United States
    Posts
    30,569

    Default

    That relay you have is too small for that machine. Use the RO41 or the RCO410 if there's a start capacitor in the circuit.
    https://www.repairclinic.com/PartDet...ay/RO41/940296
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Start-Relay-RO41-00648181.jpg 
Views:	1 
Size:	127.2 KB 
ID:	39299

    Once those wires get brittle the less you need to move them, the better. I can make you a wire diagram. It may not look exactly like the manufactures wiring but it will work just fine. I'll do my best to make it Idiot-proof.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Hotwire to Solid State.jpg 
Views:	5 
Size:	190.7 KB 
ID:	39300
    OWNER RICK'S APPLIANCE REPAIR
    APPLIANCE TECHNICIAN FOR 31 YEARS
    REFRIGERATION SPECIALIST
    ONLINE SERV TECH: ApplianceBlog.com
    CERTIFIED TYPE 1; TYPE 2.....REFRIGERATION SERVICE E.S.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Location
    CA
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Dammit-Dammit-Dammit! Sales people suck! Lol! I'll get the other part (much cheaper than the first one I bought). Thanks so much for the wiring diagram. I looked at several but wanted to make sure that I wasn't looking at one that would really mess things up. The local repair guy who does vintage refrigerators quoted me $200 to come out and replace that part. I'll let you know how it goes!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Location
    CA
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Just double checking since I was finally able to take a photo of my relay. Click image for larger version. 

Name:	fridge relay.jpg 
Views:	4 
Size:	203.9 KB 
ID:	39308

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Location
    CA
    Posts
    5

    Default

    I'm sure that you have this but just in case: https://ia800206.us.archive.org/21/i...hines_text.pdf

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Murray, Utah 84107, United States
    Posts
    30,569

    Default

    Wow that's an old manual! Thanks!
    OWNER RICK'S APPLIANCE REPAIR
    APPLIANCE TECHNICIAN FOR 31 YEARS
    REFRIGERATION SPECIALIST
    ONLINE SERV TECH: ApplianceBlog.com
    CERTIFIED TYPE 1; TYPE 2.....REFRIGERATION SERVICE E.S.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Location
    CA
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Glad you liked it! I spend an insane amount of time on the internet doing research for other items/info so I run across some goodies once in awhile. I'll pass on anything else I find. I just want to double-check this in case it is a typo: My original relay is a CR.1057-R1A V.110 cyc. 50/60 HP 1/8 (3/24). I bought a SR-8141 (R081) Start/Run Relay with HP 1/12 (2/24) to 1/5 (4.8/24). The R041 relay suggested above is HP 1/4 (6/24) to 1/3 (8/24). Won't the different HP range be an issue with the R041? I honestly know very little about electrical wiring so trying to keep from blowing everything up! Thanks in advance.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Murray, Utah 84107, United States
    Posts
    30,569

    Default

    The compressor is low temp, high back pressure and is 1/8 Hp so either one will work. I assumed it was a 1/4 Hp. (You can go with more Hp just not less).
    OWNER RICK'S APPLIANCE REPAIR
    APPLIANCE TECHNICIAN FOR 31 YEARS
    REFRIGERATION SPECIALIST
    ONLINE SERV TECH: ApplianceBlog.com
    CERTIFIED TYPE 1; TYPE 2.....REFRIGERATION SERVICE E.S.

Similar Threads

  1. Starter relay?
    By cstultz in forum Frigidaire/Electrolux
    Replies: 47
    Last Post: August 1st, 2013, 03:02 AM
  2. Starter relay question
    By mallen in forum Sears Kenmore
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: July 29th, 2013, 01:54 PM
  3. Replacing a starter relay with 3n1.
    By Bryon98 in forum Whirlpool/Roper/Estate
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: November 23rd, 2012, 12:29 PM
  4. FIXED: Hotpoint - starter/relay
    By DeanPkk in forum GE/Hotpoint
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: August 28th, 2011, 01:25 PM
  5. is starter relay bad?
    By jwhatsnext in forum GE/Hotpoint
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: November 21st, 2010, 01:18 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
If you feel that you have benefited from this site, and would like to show your appreciation, you can throw a buck or two in the Appliance Blog Tip Jar - Thank you!