Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: GTWN4250D1WS control panel fried/replacement not working

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Posts
    5

    Default GTWN4250D1WS control panel fried/replacement not working

    Model Number: GTWN4250D1WS
    Brand: GE
    Age: 6-10 years

    Hello,

    We had a power event at our home, due to a storm, last weekend where we had a few voltage spikes and loss of power for a few hours. Fairly common around SE Pennsylvania. Luckily the only thing affected was our top-load GE washing machine.

    Upon investigating the non-functioning washer, I found that a few components on the control circuit board were damaged, so I ordered a direct replacement.

    That unit arrived yesterday. After installation and restoring power, the washer was unresponsive to any settings changes and would blink all leds in unison for about 1 sec on and 1 sec off. I unplugged everything and tried again with the same results.

    This morning I found a 6-pin plastic connector, with a blue jumper from pins 3-5 locally, on the original control board. I decided to install this jumper on the new board and did achieve different results. Now no leds will light while moving the cycle selector (like it should) and regardless of where the cycle selector is, the washer will always run a spin cycle for about 8 min then shutoff. It does respond to the lid opening, the pause and cancel commands, but nothing else.

    Iím stumped for sure. Any help would much appreciated. I am an electrician and will understand some more advanced troubleshooting if necessary. Just trying to resolve without spending a cost preventative amount on a 5+ year washer.

    Thanks.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	5069967B-7822-4C55-8B76-C2A131F864DB.jpg 
Views:	6 
Size:	172.6 KB 
ID:	40460   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	D5792D4D-54E6-4D40-9841-B3D0899A417E.jpg 
Views:	6 
Size:	197.9 KB 
ID:	40461  
    Last edited by Brenden Cowen; November 8th, 2018 at 05:59 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Murray, Utah 84107, United States
    Posts
    31,249

    Default

    Press the start button while rotating the cycle select knob 180į (8 positions) and then release the button. This is test mode. The status LEDs will be lit for the various functions. Turn the cycle select knob clockwise to the various detents until just the Rinse LED is lit. The model number will be displayed on the Soil LEDs as a binary number. Use the chart below to translate the binary numbers and check it against your model number. If you need to change the model number rotate the cycle select knob until just the Soak LED and the Wash LED are illuminated. Press the Start Button and all LEDs will blink. Press and hold Spin and Temperature buttons for 3 seconds. Use the Soil button to increment a number and the Temp button to decrement the number. The soil LEDs will show the updated model number, also in binary. Press and hold the Start button to save the number and you should hear two validation beeps. Unplug the machine for ten seconds then restore power.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Snapshot_2.jpg 
Views:	2 
Size:	41.9 KB 
ID:	40478
    OWNER RICK'S APPLIANCE REPAIR
    APPLIANCE TECHNICIAN FOR 31 YEARS
    REFRIGERATION SPECIALIST
    ONLINE SERV TECH: ApplianceBlog.com
    CERTIFIED TYPE 1; TYPE 2.....REFRIGERATION SERVICE E.S.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Hi rick.

    I don’t have any soil Leds on my unit. Just the five cycle leds above the cycle selector. Nor do I have spin and temperature buttons. Just four knobs and a start button.

    Thoughts on that jumper?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Murray, Utah 84107, United States
    Posts
    31,249

    Default

    ok, That's for the same machine with and without a display I thought that would work. Normally you wouldn't need to program a new control. The model select jumper must be installed on the new board before you power up. Do you have your tech sheet?
    OWNER RICK'S APPLIANCE REPAIR
    APPLIANCE TECHNICIAN FOR 31 YEARS
    REFRIGERATION SPECIALIST
    ONLINE SERV TECH: ApplianceBlog.com
    CERTIFIED TYPE 1; TYPE 2.....REFRIGERATION SERVICE E.S.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Posts
    5

    Default

    I have the schematic that was provided inside the control enclosure. I had similar readout info that you were describing but Iíve already tried that without success.

    I was able to speak with some local repair techs today about the symptoms and they both alluded to a possible failed motor control board based on the power event. Unfortunately, it seems that that board is only available with the purchase of a new motor assembly which is upwards of $200 bucks. Way more than I wanted to spend.

    Oddly enough, both of them recommended a Speed Queen as a replacement and said were rather adverse towards anything sold in a box store. Maybe other than a Bosch which I longer offers a large capacity model. Ugh.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Murray, Utah 84107, United States
    Posts
    31,249

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Brenden Cowen View Post
    I had similar readout info that you were describing but I’ve already tried that without success.
    For the model number? Can you post a copy of the tech sheet and wire diagram?

    WH20X10094 Motor and Inverter Asm
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	ge-motor-and-inverter-wh20x10094-ap5688892_01_m.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	31.3 KB 
ID:	40490
    OWNER RICK'S APPLIANCE REPAIR
    APPLIANCE TECHNICIAN FOR 31 YEARS
    REFRIGERATION SPECIALIST
    ONLINE SERV TECH: ApplianceBlog.com
    CERTIFIED TYPE 1; TYPE 2.....REFRIGERATION SERVICE E.S.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Posts
    5

    Default

    This is what I've got. Let me know if you need tighter shots of anything. I can retake and crop sections.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	DC4A8FDB-CF7A-4B06-B62C-D87FD92FF7AC.jpg 
Views:	4 
Size:	360.3 KB 
ID:	40497   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	25F77542-33B6-46F2-B5DA-7BACB90BE115.jpg 
Views:	9 
Size:	289.8 KB 
ID:	40498  

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Murray, Utah 84107, United States
    Posts
    31,249

    Default

    No blinking LED on the inverter? "Washer was unresponsive to any settings changes...."no leds will light while moving the cycle selector"....and "washer will always run a spin cycle" doesn't sound like a bad motor or inverter to me. Sounds like a control board issue. Where did you get that board? Was it new?
    OWNER RICK'S APPLIANCE REPAIR
    APPLIANCE TECHNICIAN FOR 31 YEARS
    REFRIGERATION SPECIALIST
    ONLINE SERV TECH: ApplianceBlog.com
    CERTIFIED TYPE 1; TYPE 2.....REFRIGERATION SERVICE E.S.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Yeah. Amazon vendor. I should be able to return it. Only bought it last Sunday.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Murray, Utah 84107, United States
    Posts
    31,249

    Default

    I'll be honest with you I haven't worked on this particular model before so let me ask one of the other techs what they think.
    OWNER RICK'S APPLIANCE REPAIR
    APPLIANCE TECHNICIAN FOR 31 YEARS
    REFRIGERATION SPECIALIST
    ONLINE SERV TECH: ApplianceBlog.com
    CERTIFIED TYPE 1; TYPE 2.....REFRIGERATION SERVICE E.S.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. FIXED: FEB30S7FCD Frigidaire Wall Oven - Fried Control Panel, new one not working
    By MrSometimesFixIt in forum Frigidaire/Tappan/Electrolux
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: August 23rd, 2018, 12:37 AM
  2. FIXED: Control Panel Replacement?
    By SeaDee in forum Sears Kenmore
    Replies: 24
    Last Post: April 19th, 2016, 10:20 AM
  3. Key pad or whole control panel replacement?
    By spotted dogs in forum Sears Kenmore
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: February 12th, 2016, 10:29 AM
  4. Replies: 3
    Last Post: January 16th, 2016, 10:35 PM
  5. GE range with fried convection motor/control panel
    By Blconder in forum GE/Hotpoint
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: July 28th, 2013, 10:49 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
If you feel that you have benefited from this site, and would like to show your appreciation, you can throw a buck or two in the Appliance Blog Tip Jar - Thank you!