Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: 665.13742K603 No lights, no start, but power at the junction box

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    toronto
    Posts
    113

    Default 665.13742K603 No lights, no start, but power at the junction box

    Model Number: 665.13742K603
    Brand: Sears Kenmore
    Age: 6-10 years

    DW suddenly failed. No Start.
    There is power at the junction box, so power to the machine itself. But nothing happens when I punch the START button on the face plate. No lights at all.

    Does that sound like a catastrophic failure of the circuit board? (which I bet would not be worth replacing. I would just replace the unit itself with a good 2nd hand one.)

    or is there some simple (or simplish) further electrical investigation I can do, between the power supply junction point and the rest of the machine.

    If it were anything else (cars, electronics, etc.) , I would guess "fuse" but I doubt there is a fuse in a DW.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    22,971

    Default

    Hi,

    Check the thermal fuse in the consol...

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Thermal-Fuse-W10258275--01333489.jpg 
Views:	2 
Size:	63.9 KB 
ID:	41417 Dishwasher thermal fuse

    jeff.
    http://www.applianceaid.com/
    Appliance Repair Aid
    Yeah I've got O.C.D.....Old, Cranky and Dangerous.
    Tip of the day, set your Samsung Smart Fridge to a foreign language so Google can't spy on you!!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    toronto
    Posts
    113

    Default

    Thanks Jeff.
    Should a standard continuity test "prove" this fuse? Or does it only kick.in under load (or heat? what does the "thermal" part mean?)
    Peter

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    22,971

    Default

    Should a standard continuity test "prove" this fuse?
    Yes.
    Open = bad.
    Closed = good.

    jeff.
    http://www.applianceaid.com/
    Appliance Repair Aid
    Yeah I've got O.C.D.....Old, Cranky and Dangerous.
    Tip of the day, set your Samsung Smart Fridge to a foreign language so Google can't spy on you!!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    toronto
    Posts
    113

    Default

    Great tip (as always) the Fuse seems shot. I'll replace it and see what happens. (though I wonder why a fuse like this would fail. Does it normally only only go OPEN when things overheat? when it cools down, would it normally then go CLOSED. Or once Open it is blown and shot)

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    22,971

    Default

    It is a one time deal....once it opens it stays open.
    Can fail when it gets too hot, on it's own, loose wire ( install the whole kit! ).

    jeff.
    http://www.applianceaid.com/
    Appliance Repair Aid
    Yeah I've got O.C.D.....Old, Cranky and Dangerous.
    Tip of the day, set your Samsung Smart Fridge to a foreign language so Google can't spy on you!!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    toronto
    Posts
    113

    Default Solved

    well, that was easy. many thanks again. (donation has been sent.)
    I swapped in a few fuse kit and she's running again.

    Though I have a followup question. Why would the thermal fuse blow? does that suggest a wiring problem elsewhere in the DW? Or does Stuff Just Happen sometimes.?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    toronto
    Posts
    113

    Default

    Yea, darn, that fuse blew again.
    so something is amiss.
    anything else I can check (though I can't keep swapping in $40 fuses). or should I just be getting a replacement. Good used replacements are not expensive $75-100.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    22,971

    Default

    A copy:

    The first thing I would inspect is the heating element for damage that may beginning to short out. Also make sure it is not coated with calcium.
    If the element checks out good, a failing motor could blow the fuse.
    If the motor checks out, look for shorts in the wiring both in the door and under the unit.

    Make sure ALL the wires from the kit where also replaced at the same time as the thermal fuse.

    jeff.
    http://www.applianceaid.com/
    Appliance Repair Aid
    Yeah I've got O.C.D.....Old, Cranky and Dangerous.
    Tip of the day, set your Samsung Smart Fridge to a foreign language so Google can't spy on you!!

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    toronto
    Posts
    113

    Default

    There were only two wires in the kit.
    Which attached to the old fuse wires via a connector block.

    And two plastic zip ties.

    Like this:
    https://poguesupply.com/whirlpool-w1...rmal-fuse-kit/

Similar Threads

  1. No lights, no power only a continuos tone while holding the start pause button
    By rainforrestguy1 in forum Frigidaire/Electrolux
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: November 11th, 2014, 10:23 PM
  2. Kenmore Ultra 665.13742K603 Touchpad Issues
    By b3nbr0wn in forum Sears Kenmore
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: July 31st, 2014, 08:08 AM
  3. Replies: 3
    Last Post: December 10th, 2012, 04:19 PM
  4. Replies: 4
    Last Post: November 15th, 2012, 06:00 PM
  5. Replies: 5
    Last Post: November 10th, 2012, 12:10 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
If you feel that you have benefited from this site, and would like to show your appreciation, you can throw a buck or two in the Appliance Blog Tip Jar - Thank you!