• ** REMEMBER! **The microwave can still shock you even unplugged!!

    ALWAYS discharge the high-voltage capacitor first if you even think your hands will come close to any HIGH VOLTAGE components.

    Jeff mentions this: Anything in the high voltage ( magnetron, capacitor, diode, wires to and from ):
    ...Use a metal ( not the shiny chrome type ) screw driver with a insulated handle to short across ( touch both at the same time ) the terminals of the high voltage capacitor to discharge it.

    From Jeff's site: http://www.applianceaid.com/component-testing.php

    Jake

721.80523500 Fuse blown

red1958

Premium Member
Joined
Nov 1, 2012
Messages
54
Location
Puerto Rico
Model Number
721.80523500
Brand
Sears Kenmore
Age
6-10 years
I have the 250 V 20A fuse blown after a power outage. Replace the fuse and it still blown everytime I hit the start button. This is what I have done so far:

1- Disconnect fan, blower and Magnetrón. Fuse blown.
2. Connect all ítems back ( except the Magnetrón ). Fuse blown.
3 - Disconnect HV transformer. Fuse OK.
4 - Check diode and capacitor. Seems to be OK.
5 - Connect HV transformer. Fuse blown.
6 - Disconnect diode and capacitor. Fuse OK
7 - All steps from 2 are with the Magnetrón disconnected.
8 - All lights, fan, blower, display Works fine if I don't hit the start button.

Any idea about why the fuse is blowing? ( I am using a fast blo fuse. Do not have any time delay fuse.) I am thinking about replacing the diode and capacitor but am not sure if that will solve the problen. Thanks for your help.

Best Regards
 

jeff1

Appliance Tech - Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 10, 2004
Messages
23,713
Location
Ontario, Canada

red1958

Premium Member
Joined
Nov 1, 2012
Messages
54
Location
Puerto Rico
Hi Jeff:

I found a capacitor and a diode on my garage from an old Microwave but have not installed them yet to test if they solve the problem. As soon as I have a chance, I will work on it and let you know if the problem is solved or if I need to buy any other part. Thanks for your reply.
 

jeff1

Appliance Tech - Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 10, 2004
Messages
23,713
Location
Ontario, Canada
Keep us posted when you can.

jeff.
 

red1958

Premium Member
Joined
Nov 1, 2012
Messages
54
Location
Puerto Rico
Hi Jeff:

I replaced the capacitor with one with almost the same spec ( .91 mF instead of 1 mF ) and the microwave start working again. Will it makes any difference having a slighty different capacitor installed ? Will it affect the performance of the microwave? Thanks again for your help.
 

jeff1

Appliance Tech - Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 10, 2004
Messages
23,713
Location
Ontario, Canada
Will it makes any difference having a slighty different capacitor installed ? Will it affect the performance of the microwave?
Yes, yes.

I try to not go more than 5-10% difference.

I might sub a .95 for an 1
.91 is a bit low.

jeff.
 
Top