• Please note, some of the links on our site are affiliate links (Learn More)

796.4137 Kenmore Washer IE Code Help!!!

KOZ45

Premium Member
Joined
Nov 14, 2019
Messages
16
Location
Indiana
Model Number
796.4137
Brand
Sears Kenmore
Age
1-5 years
Kenmore Front Loader: IE Fault Code
5-6 year old Kenmore just started with this code

The IE code indicates that the washer detects a problem with water fill.

Make sure that the hot and cold water supply faucets behind the washer are fully open.......I checked both and they are open

I took the supply lines off the back of the machine and cleaned out some debris in the plastic screens, going into the washer

I ran some vinegar through the washer also, to help loose any build up

Still throwing a code.......if I turn the washer off and try the cycle, it will run for 8 min and then shut down and throw the code

The washer will eventually run after 6-8 cycle attempts

The inlet screens were dirty......so i cleaned them. Nope, still throwing a code

I gambled and replaced the water inlet valves/solenoids. Easy swap and was $35.

Still not working.......

Yes I did pull the water lines off and they are flowing alot of water

The hot and cold water valves are open fully

The hose from the sensor to the tub is a thick rubber material and its covered by a 1/2" thick foam padding

Just for the heck of it, I took the tube off the sensor and blew on it, to make sure it wasn't blocked. It was able to blow air through it.

I then hooked up a bypass hose to the sensor and turned the washer on. A few blows in to the tube and the washer worked and started to fill with water. No codes

So, either the connection at the tub is blocked, the hose has a leak, or the sensor is bad?

I bought a new water level switch sensor for $15.......nope, still not working and throwing the code.

I can get the machine to fill and to not throw a code when I use a small tube and blow air into the water level pressure switch.

I cannot see any holes or cracks in the factory tubing

Any ideas?????

Kenmore Connect
Model: 796.4137
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
105,988
Location
McMullen Valley, Arizona
ERROR CODE IE Inlet water supply error

Check/Repair
The initial expected water level isn't reached in 8 minutes or the final preset water level isn't reached in 25 minutes. Check the water supply faucets behind the washer to make sure they are fully open. Check the fill hoses for kinks or freezing (in winter). Check the inlet water valves. If the valves are defective, replace the inlet water valve assembly. If the water valves are okay, replace the main electronic control board.

You replaced both the hot and cold inlet valves inside the washer?

The links below include videos on replacing them:

HOT:

COLD:

We would need the complete model number of your washer, because the main control board has to match your exact model number.

This is the main control board for model 796.41372210
EBR78263902 Pcb Assembly,main


Let us know what you find.

Jake
 

KOZ45

Premium Member
Joined
Nov 14, 2019
Messages
16
Location
Indiana
Yes both hot and cold valves I replaced

Both water valves are fully open

No kinks in the water lines
 

KOZ45

Premium Member
Joined
Nov 14, 2019
Messages
16
Location
Indiana
I see there is a red light on the main circuit board

Is the red light normal or should it be another color?

Any other ideas or things to check?

Does the code have to be cleared?
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
105,988
Location
McMullen Valley, Arizona
The red LED light just indicates the control board is getting power.

Here's the flowchart for this error code IE:
When you press both WASH/RINSE button and DELAY START button simultaneously, is the water level < 246
--->NO
Is filter inlet valve clogged with foreign material?
--->NO
Check the connectors at the main PCB and the water valve. Are the connectors loose or disconnected?
--->NO

If the answer to all those above is NO it says--->Replace the MAIN PWB ASSEMBLY.

Again, what is your complete model number of your washer?

Click here: Appliance Parts

Then you will see a link that says: How to find a model number.

Jake
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
105,988
Location
McMullen Valley, Arizona

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
105,988
Location
McMullen Valley, Arizona
Your correct, sorry I must be looking at a similar tech data sheet close to your model, but NOT exactly your model.

I'm sorry I can't help you then unless you can locate your tech. data sheet. All machines come with them, they are usually located in the console, or underneath the top panel or in the bottom of the washer.

Jake
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
105,988
Location
McMullen Valley, Arizona
To see what buttons you press for that flowchart for this error code IE.:)

Jake
 

KOZ45

Premium Member
Joined
Nov 14, 2019
Messages
16
Location
Indiana
All machines come with them, they are usually located in the console, or underneath the top panel or in the bottom of the washer.
Not under the top panel and I am not sure what you mean by " in the console"
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
105,988
Location
McMullen Valley, Arizona
Hold on, I just asked the other techs if they have the tech. data sheet.

Jake
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
105,988
Location
McMullen Valley, Arizona
Ok, our tech BB, gave me the official service manual, and it still says:

When you press both WASH/RINSE button and DELAY START button simultaneously, is the water level < 246?

Since your machine does not have WASH/RINSE button, Try WASH/TEMP and DELAY START buttons.

Jake
 

KOZ45

Premium Member
Joined
Nov 14, 2019
Messages
16
Location
Indiana
If I press and hold both WASH/TEMP and DELAY START buttond, the chime just sounds nonstop
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
105,988
Location
McMullen Valley, Arizona
Ok, I don't know what else to suggest, the service manual doesn't seem to be the proper one for your model, or you have a misprint in it.

You will need to contact Sears at 1-800-469-4663 for a tech. to come out.

All Kenmore 796 models are made by LG, which all of us techs tell our customers to avoid.

Jake
 

KOZ45

Premium Member
Joined
Nov 14, 2019
Messages
16
Location
Indiana
New circuit board installed in 20 minutes......…...same thing

After 8 min, it throws the IE code

If I take off the water fill pressure hose (running in to the water level pressure switch) and connect a small section of fuel hose and blow into it a few puffs, the machine turns on and functions perfectly

Any ideas? Sounds like something in the machine is blocking the air in the line, from creating pressure, and it wont trigger the water level pressure switch.
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
105,988
Location
McMullen Valley, Arizona
Like I said in November--->You will need to contact Sears at 1-800-469-4663 for a tech. to come out.

Jake
 

KOZ45

Premium Member
Joined
Nov 14, 2019
Messages
16
Location
Indiana
I think there is a blockage in the draining pipes

I took the pump filter out and far back inside the lines i saw two pieces of plastic
I used some long skinny needle nose pliers and I pulled out a business rewards card that was broke in half

I'm thinking a thong or a small sock might be stuck in the drain piping

I think this would make sense with the blowing on the bypass hose for the water level pressure switch

Time to take more panels off and see how i can access the drain piping better
 
Top