FIXED Amana cooktop - Bottom right burner does not work

JB1601

Premium Member
Joined
Aug 4, 2014
Messages
4
Location
San Jose, CA
Model Number
AKS3040BE
Brand
Amana
Age
6-10 years
Hello there,
I looked up this forum for similar posts and saw one that brings a similar issue though not quite same. Want to describe my issue in detail to confirm if the switch replacement suggested there will fix all issues or if I need anything else.

When I turn bottom right burner (BR) on, it does not give me any clicking sound (none out of 4). I also do not see any spark on any burners. However, when I turn any other 3 knobs, all burners start clicking including the BR (albeit its a very weak spark compared to other three). My current workaround is to start bottom left (BL) burner spark and turn BR burner knob so that it can catch faint spark and ignite. Wife is not happy with this workaround. So need to get it fixed.

Questions:
a) Do I need to replace just one switch (BR)? Or should I buy the whole switch harness?
b) Should I replace spark module on BR?
c) Should I replace spark electrode on BR since the spark is weak?

Or a combination from above.

This cooktop sits on a granite counter. Assume to access wiring I will need to cut the caulking and take the unit out completely. Correct? Or is there an access from the bottom of the cooktop (i.e. under the countertop).

Any help is appreciated.

Thanks,
JB
 
Last edited:

jeff1

Appliance Tech - Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 10, 2004
Messages
23,721
Location
Ontario, Canada
Hi,

Do I need to replace switch? Only one (BR) or should I buy the whole harness?
Sounds like a bad switch...only comes all together...

Spark-Ignition-Switch-and-Harness-74007696--00749906.jpg LINK> Spark ignition switches and harness assembly

Should I replace spark module on BR?
If it works on the other three, I wouldn't.

Should I replace spark electrode on BR since the spark is weak?
That would be a good idea...

Spark-Electrode-8523793--00753616.jpg LINK> Spark electrode, surface burner

Mine is a cooktop sits on a granite counter. Assume to access wiring I will need to cut the caulking and take the unit out completely. Correct?
Yes.

Or is there an access from the bottom of the cooktop
Nope.

jeff.
 

JB1601

Premium Member
Joined
Aug 4, 2014
Messages
4
Location
San Jose, CA
Awesome Jeff. That was quick. So I buy switch harness and a spark electrode.

I see these listed in eBay for a fraction of the price from Amana website. Should I buy it from there? Any suggestion on reputable and affordable parts providers?
 

jeff1

Appliance Tech - Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 10, 2004
Messages
23,721
Location
Ontario, Canada
We don't suggest buying anything from Amazon or Ebay....we get emails everyday from people having issues with used parts being sold as new, rebuilt being sold as new and terrible customer service. That's why we recommend reputable appliance parts depots. RepairClinic. AppliancePartsPro

jeff.
 

JB1601

Premium Member
Joined
Aug 4, 2014
Messages
4
Location
San Jose, CA
Jeff,
My part arrived today. I opened my cooktop cover and saw that infact BR switch seemed to have shorted. Replaced the whole harness with the new one. Replaced the ignitor on the BR burner as well. While at it, I gave all burners nice cleaning as well.

However, my BR burner still does not light. I see the spark is still weak even with a new ignitor.

Any thoughts. Did I miss anything?

JB
 

jeff1

Appliance Tech - Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 10, 2004
Messages
23,721
Location
Ontario, Canada
Spacing good for the spark....not too big or not too small giving a weak spark? Wires are tight at the electrode?

If everything else checks ok, then new spark module is the next step...

Spark-Module-8215557-00765441.jpg LINK> Spark module

...must have been damaged when the switch let go :(

jeff.
 

JB1601

Premium Member
Joined
Aug 4, 2014
Messages
4
Location
San Jose, CA
Jeff,
After a bit of elimination logic, I was able to resolve the issue. Turns out the BR burner plate was a bit raised since I was trying it out without screwing the burner base to the cooktop. I wanted to test it out before putting screws back. No matter how I changed the ignitor circuit, BR would always be the one not firing. The only difference while trying all combination was that BR burner plate was not tightly screwed to the cooktop. Once I did it, it worked. Phew!

Thanks for all your help. Got 2 thumbs up from wifey!
 

jeff1

Appliance Tech - Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 10, 2004
Messages
23,721
Location
Ontario, Canada
Spacing good for the spark....not too big or not too small giving a weak spark?
Turns out the BR burner plate was a bit raised since I was trying it out without screwing the burner base to the cooktop
Yupper, spacing can be an issue....thankx for the update :)

jeff.
 
Top