FIXED ATF8000FS1 Error E52, intermittent final spin

Tre0317

Premium Member
Joined
Mar 11, 2019
Messages
9
Location
13104
Model Number
ATF8000FS1
Brand
Frigidaire
Age
6-10 years
Hi,

I am posting because I can’t find a thread that mentions my specific error and problem.

First, the final fast spin would not start on a normal cycle after the several tumbles that occur with the drain pump active, all the free water seemed to be gone.
Then the spin cycle worked however with half the original load(my wife overfilled the load originally).
Then i came home from a trip.
This worked for several loads, running a separate spin cycle to get the fast spin.
Then with a load of three towels the separate spin cycle would not work.
I read several other threads and found an error code of E52.
Then i ran a normal and a spin without any clothes and both worked fine and spun fast and maximum speeds(i videoed them to compare speeds)
I think i am going to disconnect the hoses and make sure they are clean, but wanted help before i order parts etc.
FYI, we leave the door open when not in use and it is a bit loose/misaligned. I have heard the buzzer with the door closed during a cycle.
What is the next step?
Help, thanks
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
103,477
Location
McMullen Valley, Arizona
Hi,

E52=Bad signal from tacho generator. Refer to test (8).

TEST 8:
1. Disconnect the plug from the drive motor and measure the resistance pins 4 & 5 in the motor.

If the reading is between 105 & 130 Ohms, replace the speed control board.
If the meter reads other than between 105 & 130 Ohms, replace the motor.

Here's the motor speed control board for your model you can order if needed:
134743500 Motor Control Board


Here's the motor for your model you can order if needed:
137043000 Motor


Let us know what you find.

Jake
 

Tre0317

Premium Member
Joined
Mar 11, 2019
Messages
9
Location
13104
The ohms were all within range.
Motor control board ordered from your site and arrived within 2 days.
Was out of town till this am to test it and all seems to be working correctly.
To anyone who reads this the edges of the back of the inside of the dryer are sharp, if you cut yourself make sure you are up to date on your tetanus! ask your doctor.
Thanks to Jake for the help!!!
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
103,477
Location
McMullen Valley, Arizona
Excellent Tre, glad to hear the new motor control board fixed it.:)

Thanks for the update!

Jake
 

Tre0317

Premium Member
Joined
Mar 11, 2019
Messages
9
Location
13104
The problem has returned.
Same error and same problems. New speed/motor control board is in. Worked for about 5loads.
Spin cycle worked for one load then stopped working.
Then I reset the error code and ran a spin cycle (bc of the wet clothes inside)
With one minute left on spin cycle it spun fast and no new error code appeared.
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
103,477
Location
McMullen Valley, Arizona
Ok, then the motor control board is defective, send it back for another one.

Jake
 

Tre0317

Premium Member
Joined
Mar 11, 2019
Messages
9
Location
13104
And the two motor control boards are broke and acting the same way?
Ok new one ordered and other return started.
 

Tre0317

Premium Member
Joined
Mar 11, 2019
Messages
9
Location
13104
If the motor control board is not working why would it run normally through a cycle with no clothes?
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
103,477
Location
McMullen Valley, Arizona
Ok, that is very odd.

You must have a wiring short then.

Unplug the machine and remove the plastic electrical wiring connector that connects to the motor, I've seen the pins inside that connector burn and arc and cause this problem.

Jake
 

Tre0317

Premium Member
Joined
Mar 11, 2019
Messages
9
Location
13104
Point me to the part, I’ll order it and try it before I put in a third motor control board.

Thanks.
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
103,477
Location
McMullen Valley, Arizona
No, its not a part you order.

Remove the electrical connector from your motor, then look inside the connectors to see if any of the little metal pins are burnt.

See that plastic motor connector at the top of the motor? that's where you look at both sides of that plastic connector once you remove it from that motor connector.

Jake
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
103,477
Location
McMullen Valley, Arizona
Ok,

Yes, I see, bad wire harness.

Here's the wire harness you will need to order:
Wiring Harness


Jake
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
103,477
Location
McMullen Valley, Arizona
Excellent, glad to hear that.:)

Thanks for the update!

Jake
 
Top