Bearing and drum mount problem

wylidog

Premium Member
Whirlpool model# WFW9150WW00

Here is the deal on the vibration problems with Duet washers beside the fact they are terribly built. Ours was barely out of warranty when the biggest problems started. The bearings on the drum shaft are cheap Chinese bearings. they WILL fail . When they do the seal will also start to leak which makes the bearings break down further to the point of complete failure. I replaced the bearings with high quality stainless steel bearings and was able to find an after market seal. ( Yes they DO exist ). The problem went away for awhile. After another few months this issue started again and after much further inspection and dismantling I found the drum mounting bracket to be severely cracked. As an engineer I can tell you this was probably cracked since the first repair but I didn't catch it. This crack was caused by the bearing failure. The part is not properly designed and is a little involved to get to so it is not obvious. This is an extremely dangerous issue and Whirlpool should have issued a safety recall. If this mounting bracket fails 100 % during a spin cycle ( 1000rpm ) it could have fatal results. Whirlpool has issued a new part # to the replacement part so I can only assume they know this part is defective and have introduced a new replacement part that may be improved. However I am not aware that Whirlpool has announced they have done so. Whirlpool should be held accountable for this. Once these repairs are made you can also add more shock absorbers to the unit. The mounting areas are there in the machine, there is room for 5-6 but only 3 are installed. I am sure it is to save Whirlpool money. If you are able to make these repairs your machine should be greatly improved.

meggabad

Premium Member
So what were the replacement bearings and seal you used? Also, what is the p/n for the mount you say was broken on yours?

wylidog

Premium Member