CGS990SET8SS GE Range Pops circuit breaker in panel

Flecker

Premium Member
Joined
Jul 14, 2019
Messages
6
Location
Round Rock, TX
Model Number
CGS990SET8SS
Brand
GE
Age
1-5 years
The lower oven when using convection roast pops circuit breaker after heating to desired temp while food is in the oven. I reset the breaker and it works until the next time it is used..
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
101,445
Location
McMullen Valley, Arizona
Hi,

Here's the parts diagram for your model:

When did the lower oven start doing this tripping the breaker? Is anything else pulled into that outlet? Have you tried a different outlet that's on a different breaker?

Jake
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
101,445
Location
McMullen Valley, Arizona
Use a extension cord to reach another outlet. Usually when the problem is not the range if it doesn't trip the breaker right away when you first turn on convection roast.

Jake
 

Flecker

Premium Member
Joined
Jul 14, 2019
Messages
6
Location
Round Rock, TX
Jake,

Thank you for your help. I plugged it into a different plug no issues. Plugged it into the original plug and found out the circuit for the oven also runs my office. My son was on his computer and when I turned the oven on it shut the room down.
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
101,445
Location
McMullen Valley, Arizona
Yuppers, that will do it.:)

Thanks for the update!

Jake
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
101,445
Location
McMullen Valley, Arizona

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
101,445
Location
McMullen Valley, Arizona
Ok, you will need to have a electrician come out to see what's going on.

I plugged it into a different plug no issues. Plugged it into the original plug and found out the circuit for the oven also runs my office. My son was on his computer and when I turned the oven on it shut the room down.
You probably just need a new breaker.

Jake
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
101,445
Location
McMullen Valley, Arizona
Ok, I don't know then, sorry. That's a first for me too!

But it seems to me its in your house electrical because you said this: I plugged it into a different plug no issues.

Jake
 
Top