• Please note, some of the links on our site are affiliate links (Learn More)

FIXED DLEX5101W LG dryer motor stops intermittently

mschaef114

Premium Member
Model Number
DLEX5101W
Brand
LG
My LG front load electric dryer has developed an intermittent motor stoppage. The dryer will start on any cycle and run for approximately 5 seconds before the drum stops turning. The display still indicates that the unit is in cycle and the timer counts down. After a few seconds to 1-2 minutes, the unit will start up without touching it. Switching to another cycle does not change anything. It will still occasionally complete a full cycle without stopping and while working, seems to heat just fine. I've seen some postings suggesting that lint is in the motor and that the motor needs replaced. Any suggestions. Thanks

Complete Newbie trying to save some $$$

mschaef114

Premium Member
Just my luck that I get the phantom electrical problem. Don't know if this helps but the initial shutoff is pretty predictable, within the first 5 seconds. After that it becomes sporadic. Usually if it doesn't shutoff within that 5 seconds, it will complete the cycle. However, once it shuts off for the first time, it will repeatedly shutoff when a new cycle is started within that same 5 second time period. I took the top off and did not find any obvious loose connections. I tried the LG diagnostics with my phone but it simply says that the cycle was interrupted, because the control board is still operating properly (or at least counting down as if it is). When it does shut off, you can hear clicking noises as well. Thanks for any help

gnc13

Premium Member