ED2KHAXVB01 Fridge compressor not running, tech has no idea

amor1210

Premium Member
Model Number
ED2KHAXVB01
Brand
Whirlpool
So my fridge stopped working (not cooling and no compressor firing). I have a warranty thru some company who was sending a tech. Im a tech myself but in a different field. So i tried diagnose myself before the tech showed up. I get a click sound coming from the start stop relay. I also took it out and it smelled burnt. So i said must be that. Tech comes out and in 5 minutes runs out says needs call boss. He didn't know what he was doing and sad when in 5 minutes you have to run out to make a call. Comes in 15 minutes later and boss says its the start stop relay. Part being ordered. So i said shoot i have one already on order.

Long story short it came in and swapped it out. No go and still no compressor firing. You do feel a little something running in the compressor and then click from switch and stops. The compressor eventually gets super hot.

Also i bough this house with existing fridge and it wasn't mine. So when this happened i quickly went underneath to clean any dust. There was so much built under that i had to use a compressor just to see anything. So i know that's the reason of this issue but i need know where to start now. The techs coming out tomorrow and put a part in that isnt the fix. Ive already contacted company asking for money back because who comes out and doesn't know anything about what they do and carries zero parts? I have a car stock of common parts to do my job.

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Hi,

You can use a multimeter to ohm test the compressor start relay for continuity, normal would be 0-12 ohms.

Make sure you unplug your refrigerator first, then remove it from the side of your compressor, then put your meter probes in the 2 parallel holes and it should read 0-12 ohms.

If it ohms good, then the compressor is locked up.

Replacing the compressor would cost more than it's worth.