• Please note, some of the links on our site are affiliate links (Learn More)

FIXED F2 error code GE oven JBP78BB4BB

Ksatt

Premium Member
Joined
Jan 1, 2020
Messages
5
Location
Georgia
Model Number
JBP78BB4BB
Brand
GE
Age
More than 10 years
I replaced a broiler element on this model and when I plugged it back in the broiler element comes on with the switch in the off position and stays on until it starts flashing F2 and you have to unplug it to ge it to stop. I tried a few times and it does the same thing every time. Any ideas?
Thanks
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
105,351
Location
McMullen Valley, Arizona
Hi,

First ohm test the resistance of the oven sensor with a multimeter. It should measure about 1050 to 1100 ohms at room temperature.

Watch this video to ohm test it:
Pull your RANGE out from the wall, then unplug it OR turn the breaker off to it, then back access panel off and you will see a connector that goes to it, remove the connector and ohm test it.

Here's the oven sensor for your model:
Temperature Sensor WB23X5340


If the oven sensor ohm tests good, then the problem is the clock oven control board.

Here's the clock oven control board for your model:
WB27T10230 Clock Control Board


Let us know what you find.

Jake
 

Ksatt

Premium Member
Joined
Jan 1, 2020
Messages
5
Location
Georgia
Ok, I tested the sensor and it still just read 1 so I’m assuming it is bad and will get a replacement.
Thanks Jake!
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
105,351
Location
McMullen Valley, Arizona
Ok, your multimeter is good, fresh batteries in it? Is your meter set on the 2000 ohms setting? If so and your oven sensor didn't read 1050 to 1100 ohms then yes, your oven sensor is bad, keep us posted when you get the new one installed.

Jake
 

Ksatt

Premium Member
Joined
Jan 1, 2020
Messages
5
Location
Georgia
Yes, multimeter is good, good battery,I changed the sensor out and it is still doing the same thing, the broiler element is heating up with all the controls off. I guess the control board is bad, is that difficult to replace?
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
105,351
Location
McMullen Valley, Arizona
Yes, the control board is bad.

There is a video in the control board part link I posted above that shows you how to replace it.

Jake
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
105,351
Location
McMullen Valley, Arizona
Ok, sounds good. Keep us posted.

Jake
 

Ksatt

Premium Member
Joined
Jan 1, 2020
Messages
5
Location
Georgia
Yes!! it was the control board. Changed it out and it is working great. thanks for the help
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
105,351
Location
McMullen Valley, Arizona
Excellent, glad to hear the new control board fixed it. (y)

Thanks for the update!

Jake
 
Top