• Please note, some of the links on our site are affiliate links (Learn More)

FPMC2785KFA Frigidaire Wall oven - Incorrect oven temperature

dallaspaul

Premium Member
Joined
Apr 27, 2022
Messages
4
Location
Texas
Model Number
FPMC2785KFA
Brand
Frigidaire
Age
More than 10 years
Oven does not reach correct temperature. If I preheat to 350, the oven thinks it reaches that temperature and shows 350 on the display, but the actual temperature is +/- 150. If I then set the temperature to 400, it starts heating (with the display starting at about 190--so it knows it's not reaching 350 to begin with). When the display shows 400, the actual temperature is about 360--that's better, but still not correct.

I have replaced the temperature sensor and the control board and am getting the same result. I tried the solution posted here https://www.applianceblog.com/mainf...tric-wall-oven-temperature-calibration.90223/ and that does not seem to apply to my oven.
 
Last edited:

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
134,180
Location
Redmond, Oregon
You can ohm test the oven temperature sensor probe with a multimeter, normal reading would be between 1050-1100 ohms at room temperature. Turn your breaker off first to your oven before you do anything.

To get to the oven temperature sensor you would need to pull your oven out(you may need someone to help you, as these are very heavy) and take off the back access panel, then you will see the plastic connector that unsnaps to it.

Sometimes you can get lucky, by taking the screws out from inside the oven where the oven sensor mounts, you may be able to pull the oven sensor wire through the hole and test it without pulling the oven out from the wall.

Here's the oven temperature sensor probe for your model:
Temperature Sensor 316217002


Watch this video to ohm test it:


Let us know what you find.

Jake
 

dallaspaul

Premium Member
Joined
Apr 27, 2022
Messages
4
Location
Texas
Thanks. The reading is 1080. I have already replaced the temperature sensor--this is the new one.
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
134,180
Location
Redmond, Oregon
Then the only part left that controls the oven temp is the controller.

Controller 316560151


Also look at what fixed it for @Bunky

Jake
 

dallaspaul

Premium Member
Joined
Apr 27, 2022
Messages
4
Location
Texas
Thanks. I've already replaced the control board, so the next step is to find that breaker.
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
134,180
Location
Redmond, Oregon
Yes, but I don't see a breaker in the parts list. I do see a thermal switch with a button on it you press to reset it.

Make sure you turn the breaker OFF first to your wall oven before accessing it and ohm testing it, also take both wires off of it first before ohm testing it.

It's located either on the top of the oven OR behind the back access panel in the very back.

You will likely need a helper to pull the wall oven out from the wall, it's very heavy.

Here's the thermal fuse for your model you can order if needed:
Thermal Fuse 318004900


You will need a multimeter

Watch this video to ohm test it: Thermal Fuse Ohm Test Video

Let us know what you find.

Jake
 

dallaspaul

Premium Member
Joined
Apr 27, 2022
Messages
4
Location
Texas
Yes, but I don't see a breaker in the parts list. I do see a thermal switch with a button on it you press to reset it.

Make sure you turn the breaker OFF first to your wall oven before accessing it and ohm testing it, also take both wires off of it first before ohm testing it.


I located and removed the thermal switch. I pushed the red button but it did not move, so I assumed it was in the correct position. I tested with a digital multimeter following the steps outlined in the video and got a positive result for continuity. I reinstalled the thermal switch, placing 1/4" plumbing washers between the body of the oven and the screw tabs on the thermal switch (per @Bunky).

I started the oven and got the same result--it is not fixed. Next step is to replace the thermal switch completely and see if that works. Beyond that I am out of solutions, having already replaced the temperature sensor and the control panel.
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
134,180
Location
Redmond, Oregon
If the thermal switch ohms good, then there is no need to replace it, because its good.

This is a very uncommon problem, you may want to have Frigidaire come out at 1-800-374-4432 to see what's going on.

Jake
 
If you feel that you have benefited from this site, and would like to show your appreciation.
Top