• Please note, some of the links on our site are affiliate links (Learn More)

Freezer defrost/freeze continuously with clicking sound

fpgm3

Premium Member
Model: KSRG25FKWH01
Build Date: 03-01 (March 2001?)

Problem started last weekend when I hear clicking sound (2 clicks at a time with 1-2 seconds interval) from the fridge. Try to ignore it but then found out the freezer is going through freeze and defrost continuously. The clicking sound seems to conincide with the defrost activity (i.e. click means defrost or else it's freeze). The fridge section is running fine fan kicks in when door opens too long. Could this relate to some control or relay module?

This is my first try in refrigerator repair and hope it works or else I will invest in a new unit over repairing an 8 years old which may last for another 2-3 years. Keeping my finger crossed!! :)

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Do you notice the clicking from inside the refrigerator section in the temp. control console?

If so It sounds like your adaptive defrost control board is bad, its #6 here:
http://c.searspartsdirect.com/lis_pn...4020-00010.png
Its in the temp. control console.

#25 trim just un-snaps, don't worry you won't break it.:) Get a flathead screwdriver and just pry at a corner then it all will un-snap, and the screws are underneath it.

There should be 2 screws in front and 2 screws underneath that come out and the console with drop down a bit to change it, the defrost control is held in with 2 screws.

Unplug your refrigerator first!

Here's the defrost board for this model you can order:
Manufacturer part number 4388932 is RepairClinic item number 844415

Jake<!-- / message --><!-- sig --><!-- / message --><!-- sig -->
<!-- / message --><!-- sig -->

fpgm3

Premium Member