• Please note, some of the links on our site are affiliate links (Learn More)

FIXED Frigidaire Oven wont get very hot.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bunky

Premium Member
Joined
Jan 31, 2011
Messages
7
Location
So. California
Model Number
FGMC2765KBA
Brand
Frigidaire
Age
Less than 1 year
The oven worked fine. We did a 3 hour self clean. Now the oven does not get over 220 degrees. When preheat is set, the beep indicator goes off indicating it has reached 350. When you hit bake, it then shows the actual temp at only 220 - 229 degrees. I left it on for an hour and it peaked at 229. I believe it is only at 220 or so as it is not really very hot, and the chicken only got a little done (darn it). Any ideas? Temp sensor?

UPDATE: after an hour and a half, it reached 305 degrees....

Thanks, Mark
 
Last edited:

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
135,822
Location
Vicksburg Junction, Arizona
Its possibly the oven sensor, but you listed the age of yours as being Less then 1 year old, if thats true you should have a 1 yr. full warranty on it Frigidaire.

Jake
 

Bunky

Premium Member
Joined
Jan 31, 2011
Messages
7
Location
So. California
Yeah, but.....

I have looked everywhere I can think of but I cannot find the sales invoice. I got it in May, the bedroom closet got flooded in September, and that's where the paperwork was. I don't know if they will believe me on the date, maybe be able to look it up on the serial number, or possibly be able to find the registration card, if they received it in the mail.

In the event they don't help out under warranty Jake, your best idea would be the sensor. I can check it. I saw where it should read B/T 1000 ans 1100 ohms at room temperature. I will look at that now.

Thanks, Mark
 

Bunky

Premium Member
Joined
Jan 31, 2011
Messages
7
Location
So. California
They are closed....Sensor measures good

I tried to get in touch with Frigidaire, they were closed. Eastern time I guess. I popped out the sensor and it measured 1,069 ohms. By what I have read here, it is all good.
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
135,822
Location
Vicksburg Junction, Arizona
Yes, your oven sensor is good, so the problem is most likely going to be your controller board, and its currently $149.00

Controller 316560151


So yes, call Frigidaire tomorrow morning, they should have your information on file.:)

If not, you just give them your serial# of your oven and that has the date code encrypted in it.

Jake
 

Bunky

Premium Member
Joined
Jan 31, 2011
Messages
7
Location
So. California
20 cent repair..All good and working now.

Ok, check this out. There is a thermal breaker behind the rear panel. Apparently when the clean cycle goes on and gets up to operating temperature (900 degrees or so) on some units it trips the breaker. Frigidaire fix involves taking the two screws to the thermal breaker out, placing a 1/4 inch washer under the breaker screw tabs, and putting it back in. Apparently this will leave a slight gap between the body of the breaker and the mounting surface. This allows the breaker to still do its job, but not trip when the self clean cycle takes place.

Remember....look at the thermal breaker. If it is popped, push it back in and see if that does it.

If you don't know what it is...it is round, two wires, a red push button in the center, held to the cabinet by two screws.:)
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
135,822
Location
Vicksburg Junction, Arizona
Interesting, so in order to clean your oven you have to do this process every time to get it back to normal?

Thats not really normal to me.

You should not have to do that, or it would tell you that in your owners manaul.:)

Jake
 

Bunky

Premium Member
Joined
Jan 31, 2011
Messages
7
Location
So. California
Once you do the factory "fix", it is supposed to give that little bit of clearance between the oven wall and the breaker. This is supposed to keep it from tripping. It is not a problem with all the units, but apparently some model are subject to the issue. You would think they would design a breaker with a little higher tolerance to enable it to accept the higher heat of the self clean cycle without tripping. Perhaps if all the units had the problem, it would be a recall issue. Since it is some, they decided on this fix.

Anyway, I thought some other on the forum might have a similar issue, so I shared what was up over here. One more thing to look at if the problem comes up...

Mark
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
135,822
Location
Vicksburg Junction, Arizona
Ok Mark, I didn't know about that factory fix, thanks for letting me and others know.:)

Jake
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
If you feel that you have benefited from this site, and would like to show your appreciation.
Top