• Please note, some of the links on our site are affiliate links (Learn More)

Frigidaire Upright Freezer FFH17F7HWC frozen freezer coils - don't laugh... I'm a beginner

gizmoduck

Premium Member
Model Number
FFH17F7HWC
Brand
Frigidaire
Appliance repair newbie here.

Hi, around 2 months ago I noticed the temperature readout on my upright freezer struggling to stay below around -10 C. I took off the cover and found the freezer coils to be completely frosted over. This was my first time trying to repair a freezer. After following some youtube videos I diagnosed the problem to be a faulty defrost thermostat as there was no current running through the thermostat (it was still very cold at the time of testing). I replaced the thermostat with a new one from Amazon and I was super proud when everything seemed to be working great. Wife was super impressed. 2 days ago I noticed the exact same issue happening, the temperature could not get below about -9 C. I opened up the panel and found the freezer coils to be completely frosted over again (See photo below)!! I checked for current through the thermostat (while frozen) and I got a current, so I assume its working. I checked for a current though the defrost heater assembly and I got a current with my meter. The freezer is in good shape with good insulation around the door. No strange noises. No obvious electrical or circuitry bugs. From further youtube research I began to suspect the control board could be malfunctioning as it seems like the defrost heater must not be functioning. I tried to see if I could access the control board but I'm having a lot of trouble removing the face plate with the control display and control board from the freezer door. Perhaps I'm not being rough enough. I tried prying it off with a scraper. I was able to hear a few "pops" from the top segment but I cant get the panel off with my current level of force. Any advice on better diagnosing/repairing would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance!