FIXED GDT580SMF4ES pump will not shut off

Bdlee

Premium Member
Joined
May 31, 2019
Messages
4
Location
North Dakota
Model Number
GDT580SMF4ES
Brand
GE
Age
1-5 years
When our dishwasher first started having problems it was not even running any water in, and if we manually dumped water in, the pump would not shut off. We replaced the float valve, and now it runs water in just fine and goes through the wash cycle, but once it drains all of the water out, the pump will not shut off. It will keep trying to pump water, but there is not any water left to be pumped. It will not stop running until we open the door.

Thank you for any help you can give!
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
102,186
Location
McMullen Valley, Arizona
Hi,

See how many times your control board Service LED is flashing.

To view the Service LED, remove the lower access panel of your dishwasher.

Here's the video that shows you how to remove the cover to access the Service LED on it: Main control board access video

Here's the control board for your model:
Control Board WD21X22276


Let us know.

Jake
 

Bdlee

Premium Member
Joined
May 31, 2019
Messages
4
Location
North Dakota
When it is running it rapidly blinks 3 times (green light) and then pauses. When it is not running it just does a steady blink.
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
102,186
Location
McMullen Valley, Arizona
When its not running is it Flashing 1x per 3 seconds? or Flashing 1x per second?

What's the part number of the float valve you replaced?

Or did you mean you replaced the flood switch?

Here's the flood switch for your model:
WD21X10519 Switch Flood Asm


Before it stopped filling with water, then drain pump didn't run all the time?

Jake
 

Bdlee

Premium Member
Joined
May 31, 2019
Messages
4
Location
North Dakota
When it isnt running, it flashed 1 x every 3 seconds. Im sorry i meant we replaced the flood switch, not the float valve. And the pump was constantly running when it wasnt filling with water too.
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
102,186
Location
McMullen Valley, Arizona
Ok, it says 1x per 3 seconds: Unit is not running a cycle, select a cycle and press start.

Do this: Hold "Heated Dry" and "Start" for five seconds then try it.

If that does not FIX it, then the control board is bad, order the new control board I posted the link to above.

Jake
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
102,186
Location
McMullen Valley, Arizona
Excellent Bdlee, glad to hear that fixed it.:)

Thanks for the update!

Jake
 
Top