• Please note, some of the links on our site are affiliate links (Learn More)

FIXED GDT625PSJ5SS GE Dishwasher - no power on UI panel

RichieBOC

Premium Member
Joined
May 16, 2020
Messages
7
Location
NY
Model Number
GDT625PSJ5SS
Brand
GE
Age
1-5 years
First of all, I just want to say thank you to the wonderful people here helping us fix our appliances ourselves in this challenging time. This is a tremendous help!

Like so many other people here, my GDT625PSJ5SS dishwasher UI panel is not working. Nothing lights up.

I just bought a brand new UI panel, main control board and a new wiring harness. With all of these new parts installed, I’m still not getting power to the UI panel.

a few things worth mentioning:

Before I connect the main board to the UI panel, it’s shows a steady green light. If I connect it to the new UI panel and then disconnect it, the LED on the main board starts blinking steadily.

Sometimes, when I connect it to the brand new UI panel, I hear a faint click sound from the panel and then the LED turns solid green, or completely off in some cases. When I unplug the brand new UI panel, the LED on the main board goes back to blinking.

The multimeter is giving 14.04 volts between the yellow/blue and green/black wires

I am getting continuity on the heating coil.

I can confirm that the main control board is getting 120.6 volts from power.

I’m not sure what else to here.

Do I have to completely reassemble the dishwasher, or can I test it while the door is off?

any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!
-Richie
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
108,046
Location
McMullen Valley, Arizona
Hi Richie,

You forgot the most important step to fix it, setting your jumpers.:)

You have to do that or it will not work.

The UI Board comes with instructions to set the jumpers per your model number.

Here's the UI(user interface) Board for your model: WD21X23462 Kit Svc Ui Top Logic

Look in the box the UI Board came in and you will see the instruction sheet that shows you how to set the jumpers on the new UI Board per your model number.:)

Jake
 

RichieBOC

Premium Member
Joined
May 16, 2020
Messages
7
Location
NY
Ok, we have power! I totally didn’t see the instructions in the box!

So now I have a few lights and sounds coming from the UI panel. But the buttons next to “select cycle” and the time display aren’t lighting up. Is that normal? Does the entire door need to be reassembled before those will light up?

Thank you so much for your help!
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
108,046
Location
McMullen Valley, Arizona
All the buttons should be lighting up, check all your wire connections, double check everything!

Does the entire door need to be reassembled before those will light up?
That's a good question, possibly so because the door switch may be activated to see those.

Jake
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
108,046
Location
McMullen Valley, Arizona
Ok Richie, sounds good.:)

Jake
 

RichieBOC

Premium Member
Joined
May 16, 2020
Messages
7
Location
NY
I just reassembled the whole dishwasher. I’m still only getting a few lights to work and the dishwasher will not start. Any ideas?
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
108,046
Location
McMullen Valley, Arizona
Double check the jumpers are set properly.

Jake
 

RichieBOC

Premium Member
Joined
May 16, 2020
Messages
7
Location
NY
Ok will do. Thank you Jake! I’m buying you a beer when this is over!
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
108,046
Location
McMullen Valley, Arizona
I quit drinking 5 years ago, but I'll take a ROOT BEER. LOL

Jake
 

RichieBOC

Premium Member
Joined
May 16, 2020
Messages
7
Location
NY
I’m a dummy. I had the jumpers set wrong. I didn’t realize that I had to move all the jumpers. The diagram made it look like I just had to move the one. Everything is lighting up now! I’m gonna put it back together and see if everything works!
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
108,046
Location
McMullen Valley, Arizona
Excellent Richie, glad to hear setting the jumpers fixed it.(y)

Thanks for the update!

Jake
 
Top