• Please note, some of the links on our site are affiliate links (Learn More)

FIXED GDT695SMJ2ES GE Dishwasher Dead after all circuit boards replaced

Status
Not open for further replies.

gregoryjsmith3@

Premium Member
Joined
May 28, 2022
Messages
4
Location
Idaho
Model Number
GDT695SMJ2ES
Brand
GE
Age
1-5 years
Washer chimed at random times for several months. Finally, after completing a wash it died. No LED activity on the control panel. No built in diagnostics worked. I read up online and tried all of the recommended checks and fixes:

Dishwasher had power
LED on the main board was solid green (indicating UI problem)
14 volts between pins 2 and 5 to the UI leading to replacement of the UI as recommended
Yes, the jumpers on the UI were set properly. Still no lights on the UI.
Checked connectivity of the cable between the CM and the UI. All good.
Replaced the CM. Still a steady green light and UI unresponsive.

According to the tech service guide I have done everything a tech would have done. Suggestions?
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
134,025
Location
Redmond, Oregon
Here's the UI Board for your model: WD21X23462 Kit Svc Ui Top Logic

You have the jumpers set just like in this photo below? The top pin on 4 should be the only one exposed.

jumpers.jpeg
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
134,025
Location
Redmond, Oregon
Then it has to be a defective UI Board, send it back for a exchange.

Jake
 

gregoryjsmith3@

Premium Member
Joined
May 28, 2022
Messages
4
Location
Idaho
A bad replacement UI board would make sense. I never thought of that. I will exchange the UI once again. If that does not fix it I give up. I will update this thread if it resolves the problem.
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
134,025
Location
Redmond, Oregon
Ok, yes sounds good, let us know how it goes.

Jake
 

gregoryjsmith3@

Premium Member
Joined
May 28, 2022
Messages
4
Location
Idaho
Changed out the UI board and it works! During the process I noticed that the replacement board had the jumpers in a different position by default than the first board. On the first board they were all shorted and I had to move one to unshort it.

On the second board they were all unshorted and I had to move three to short them. Now I am second guessing myself as to whether I had the jumpers set properly the first time. I was sure they were, but I can also be an idiot. Anyway, problem solved. This is a great forum. Saved me a lot of money.
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
134,025
Location
Redmond, Oregon
Excellent, glad to hear the new replacement UI Board fixed it.(y)

Thanks for the update!

Jake
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
If you feel that you have benefited from this site, and would like to show your appreciation.
Top