• Please note, some of the links on our site are affiliate links (Learn More)

FIXED GE Dishwasher GDF520PGD1WW; heating element not heating

viper75x

Premium Member
Joined
Oct 4, 2021
Messages
16
Location
Washington
Model Number
GDF520PGD1WW
Brand
GE
Age
6-10 years
Hello, I have the same problem as found here:

However, I did not replace any valves or turbidity sensor. In the service mode, I can run everything except the heating element. I noticed the other user's model has a thermal cut off.

Would you be able to see if mine has one? Also, is there a more in depth service manual than the piece of paper that is tucked under the machine?

As far as date of manufacture, the serial number starts with MA, so I'm guessing it's July 2013 and not 2001. :)

Thank you!
Mike
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
123,822
Location
McMullen Valley, Arizona
Hi Mike, First ohm test the flood switch. A bad flood switch would make it not heat at all.

--->Ohm your flood switch resistance with a multimeter set on 20K ohms.
the resistance across pins 3 & 5 on the flood switch should be about 11K ohms at room temp, and 1,300 ohms at 175 degrees.

These 2 circled in red are pins 3 & 5:

floodswitch.jpg


Here's the flood switch for this model:
WD21X10519 Switch Flood Asm


Jake
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
123,822
Location
McMullen Valley, Arizona
Room temperature is 77 degrees, you don't have a room with a temperature of 77 degrees you can ohm test it at?

0.943k seems way to low for 70 degrees anyways, so its likely bad.

Jake
 

viper75x

Premium Member
Joined
Oct 4, 2021
Messages
16
Location
Washington
Well, i just put it all back together and now the thing won't even start. The Start LED comes on and after a few seconds, starts flashing quickly non-stop.

So i will put an order in for the switch. After i replace the cam and crankshaft seals in my car i may have to runnsome diags again.

Mike
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
123,822
Location
McMullen Valley, Arizona
Ok Mike, sounds good.

What we do is--->Check the machine control board STATUS LED first(its located underneath the front on the dishwasher). Tell us how many times its flashing in a row, or if its STEADY ON or STEADY OFF.

Here's the machine control board for your model:
Control Board WD21X22276


To view the STATUS LED, remove the lower access panel of your dishwasher. You DO NOT have remove the control board from its metal casing when you view the STATUS LED.

GE control 3.jpg


When you have that panel lowered down turn the breaker back ON to your dishwasher. When viewing it leave all the electrical connectors to it plugged in.

D-GE control board status led.jpg


Jake
 

viper75x

Premium Member
Joined
Oct 4, 2021
Messages
16
Location
Washington
Jake, looks like its flashing slow and steady, 1 flash about every 2 seconds

Ok so its 3 seconds. That looks normal according to the sheet.

Now i pressed start and the fill pump kicks on and flashes 3x (running a cycle). Now, i will power cycle breaker and try again.

After power cycle was able to start wash cycle again.

Now i will enter service mode and attempt to energize heating element.

Ok no heat. Next step replace flood switch.
 
Last edited:

viper75x

Premium Member
Joined
Oct 4, 2021
Messages
16
Location
Washington
Room temperature is 77 degrees, you don't have a room with a temperature of 77 degrees you can ohm test it at?

0.943k seems way to low for 70 degrees anyways, so its likely bad.

Jake
I prefer room temp at 72 😊
And its on an outside wall with little insulation. Old house
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
123,822
Location
McMullen Valley, Arizona
Yes, I agree its most likely the flood switch.

Let us know how it goes after you replace it.

Jake
 

viper75x

Premium Member
Joined
Oct 4, 2021
Messages
16
Location
Washington
Jake, it worked. Now I know that it has a ball inside that needs to be free floating. Thank you for all your help!

Mike

PS: is there a way to mark this solved?
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
123,822
Location
McMullen Valley, Arizona
Excellent Mike, glad to hear the new flood switch fixed it.(y)

Yes, the ball in it needs to be free floating.

Thanks for the update! Marked as FIXED.

Jake
 
Top