• Please note, some of the links on our site are affiliate links (Learn More)

FIXED GE dishwasher GDF620HMJ2ES blinks and beeps when I close the door but won't turn on

Status
Not open for further replies.

ilbcnux2@gmail.

Premium Member
Joined
Apr 19, 2020
Messages
5
Location
Florida
Model Number
GDF620HMJ2ES
Brand
GE
Age
1-5 years
The dishwasher blinks and beeps when I close the door but won't turn on. I've looked at the control board and theres no light on it. Does this mean the board is bad and need to replace it? I just want to know before buying a new one because of the cost of the replacement! Thanks in advance!
 

Attachments

  • 15873334967377940943199736203909.jpg
    15873334967377940943199736203909.jpg
    332.2 KB · Views: 34

rickgburton

Appliance Tech - Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 11, 2006
Messages
40,657
Location
Murray, Utah 84107, United States
Remove power from the machine for longer than 1 minute then restore power. If the status LED is off check for 120 VAC at the board. If the voltage is correct replace the board.
 

ilbcnux2@gmail.

Premium Member
Joined
Apr 19, 2020
Messages
5
Location
Florida
I already installed the new machine control board, and a new latch switch. Right now I'm installing the IU board. Any recommendations? I've read that the new IU Board jumpers may need to be set, but that is confusing me.
 

Attachments

  • 16109026194948019181663396882429.jpg
    16109026194948019181663396882429.jpg
    311.8 KB · Views: 9
  • 16109026419956884599536308534461.jpg
    16109026419956884599536308534461.jpg
    212.6 KB · Views: 5
  • 16109026674385305030982285868247.jpg
    16109026674385305030982285868247.jpg
    212.9 KB · Views: 7
  • 1610902686744425581347048676220.jpg
    1610902686744425581347048676220.jpg
    220.4 KB · Views: 5

rickgburton

Appliance Tech - Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 11, 2006
Messages
40,657
Location
Murray, Utah 84107, United States
I've read that the new IU jumper may need to be set, but that is confusing me.
Yes, you need to configure the jumpers on the new UI (User Interface) Board. I can't see the first two pictures very well. My eyes are too old. I can try to download them then blow them up but I need to see the entire page in focus. Is that the paperwork that came with the new UI? The list of model number and personality jumpers that I have are different than that one. What does it say on the instructions the personality is?
 

ilbcnux2@gmail.

Premium Member
Joined
Apr 19, 2020
Messages
5
Location
Florida
I've sent new pics. Thank you for helping me.
 

Attachments

  • 16109810118154009111278960716716.jpg
    16109810118154009111278960716716.jpg
    214.3 KB · Views: 6
  • 16109810825705121285676213804819.jpg
    16109810825705121285676213804819.jpg
    149.9 KB · Views: 6
  • 16109811651713750231704258302574.jpg
    16109811651713750231704258302574.jpg
    390.3 KB · Views: 5
  • 16109812259615959370009696607368.jpg
    16109812259615959370009696607368.jpg
    204.6 KB · Views: 4
  • 16109812572211047296419259838685.jpg
    16109812572211047296419259838685.jpg
    192.5 KB · Views: 4
  • 16109813362574255543909018000435.jpg
    16109813362574255543909018000435.jpg
    178.4 KB · Views: 5

rickgburton

Appliance Tech - Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 11, 2006
Messages
40,657
Location
Murray, Utah 84107, United States

rickgburton

Appliance Tech - Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 11, 2006
Messages
40,657
Location
Murray, Utah 84107, United States
That's the numbers of the pins. What's your personality code? Did you set the personality jumpers according to the instructions that came with the new UI?
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
115,891
Location
McMullen Valley, Arizona
Rick his personality code is 10.

@ilbcnux2@gmail. set your jumpers identical to what it shows you on that paper, TOP holes at pin 4 and pin 1 will be empty.:)
10.jpg


Jake
 

ilbcnux2@gmail.

Premium Member
Joined
Apr 19, 2020
Messages
5
Location
Florida
Thanks for taking the time to view this. I don't think you were understanding my issue. I have found another feed that explained what I needed. To explain my situation and findings. This is what I needed to do. On the new IU board the black box that looks like a lego, there are 8 pins. Those are actually covers and you need to pull these off and set them according to the directions for your machines program. One you have moved those caps as directed on your new part sheet, you can attach the cables/wires. The machine will then have power to the control panel and your machine should run. If you do not set them correctly, your control panel won't light up! Hope this helps someone in the future.
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
115,891
Location
McMullen Valley, Arizona
Rick, that's not for the chart for the UI Board. Its the one he and I posted above. I saved the UI Board instructions that came with the UI Board replacement I did in Parker, Arizona last February and verified its correct.:)

That one you have might be for the Machine Control Board, which on some models you have set the jumpers too.

Jake
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
115,891
Location
McMullen Valley, Arizona
Thanks for taking the time to view this. I don't think you were understanding my issue. I have found another feed that explained what I needed. To explain my situation and findings. This is what I needed to do. On the new IU board the black box that looks like a lego, there are 8 pins. Those are actually covers and you need to pull these off and set them according to the directions for your machines program. One you have moved those caps as directed on your new part sheet, you can attach the cables/wires. The machine will then have power to the control panel and your machine should run. If you do not set them correctly, your control panel won't light up! Hope this helps someone in the future.
Yes, that's the theory of operation, but you were not asking us that, all we wanted you to do is set the jumpers the identical way the instructions said to do it.(y)

Glad your back in business.:)

Jake
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top