• Please note, some of the links on our site are affiliate links (Learn More)

FIXED GE Dishwasher GDT635HSJ6SS loses all power/won't start

Status
Not open for further replies.

KMo

Premium Member
Joined
Feb 2, 2021
Messages
4
Location
San Antonio, TX
Model Number
GDT635HSJ6SS
Brand
GE
Age
1-5 years
Hi,

I have a GE Dishwasher GDT635HSJ6SS that loses all power/won't start. Sometimes the breaker reset repowers the dishwasher and the door UI comes back to life, but eventually it loses power and no breaker resets bring it back.

An appliance repair specialist told me it was the Main Control which needed to be replaced. I was able to order the Main Control board part WD21X25736 myself. The dishwasher functioned for several days before again losing all power.

When I bring the Main Control down and flip breaker power to the dishwasher, it has a consistently flashing Service LED (several times a second, too fast to count). Any help would be great, as this dishwasher is fast becoming a large paper weight. Thank you in advance!

Added complete model number
 
Last edited by a moderator:

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
117,087
Location
McMullen Valley, Arizona
Hi,

Your missing a digit in your model number, that missing digit is very important. Read it from the model number tag, which is located inside the door on the tub frame.

Here's the results I get:
GDT635HSJ0SS
GDT635HSJ2SS
GDT635HSJ4SS
GDT635HSJ5SS
GDT635HSJ6SS

Jake
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
117,087
Location
McMullen Valley, Arizona
Thanks,

You have a different style machine control board, so that control board is suppose to flash like that, it means its got power to it.

The problem is the UI Board, you will need the new UI Board to fix it.:)

Here's the UI(user interface) Board for your model: WD21X23462 Kit Svc Ui Top Logic

Remember to set the jumpers on the new UI Board before you install it. The instructions always come with the new UI Board and shows you how to set the jumpers.

--->If the personality is not set by using the 4 jumpers, the buttons, LED’s or cycles will not function properly.

Let us know how it goes.

Jake
 

KMo

Premium Member
Joined
Feb 2, 2021
Messages
4
Location
San Antonio, TX
Thanks Jake, I just ordered the part. I will let you know how successful I am.

Reading through this forum, it is frustrating to see there have been a number of people who have had to do a UI board replacement at 2-5 years just outside of factory warranty for these types of GE dishwashers.

Is this just a known failure with the factory UI board? Under my appliance registration, it says the original UI board was discontinued, do you know if this new UI board is more reliable or have people continued to see this issue? I appreciate the help and will recommend this blog to friends in the future.

-Kyle
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
117,087
Location
McMullen Valley, Arizona
Is this just a known failure with the factory UI board?
You would think so Kyle, I have no clue why the original ones go out so much on GE dishwashers, but they do.

Under my appliance registration, it says the original UI board was discontinued, do you know if this new UI board is more reliable or have people continued to see this issue?
Yes, they are more reliable and hold up much better than the original ones.:)

Let us know how it goes.

I appreciate the help and will recommend this blog to friends in the future.
Thanks!

Jake
 

KMo

Premium Member
Joined
Feb 2, 2021
Messages
4
Location
San Antonio, TX
Hi Jake,

Thanks again for all your help! I received the UI Top Logic in the mail the other day. I configured the jumpers for my model per the instructions sent with it and replaced it on my dishwasher. I flipped the breaker and everything seems to work correctly!

I used the following video for instructions on how to replace the UI Top Logic.


These instructions were the closest match for the GDT635HSJ6SS model. There is one difference in case anyone stumbles on this post for the same model and issue. At 4:10 there is a step needed before removing the inner door. The vent on the top right of the inner door needs to be unscrewed from the inside of the door and removed before lifting the inner door off the outer door. The rest of the instructions are spot on.

I appreciate the assistance and will post if another gremlin pops up!

-Kyle
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
117,087
Location
McMullen Valley, Arizona
Excellent Kyle, glad to hear the new UI Board fixed it.(y)

Thanks for the update and the added information per the video!

Jake
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top