• Please note, some of the links on our site are affiliate links (Learn More)

FIXED GE GDF620HMJ2ES is dead, no lights. Has power. Main control board has steady green light

aho

Premium Member
Joined
Jan 6, 2020
Messages
25
Location
Mn
Model Number
GDF620HMJ2ES
Brand
GE
Age
1-5 years
GE GDF620HMJ2ES is dead, no lights. Has power. Main control board has steady green light.
 

aho

Premium Member
Joined
Jan 6, 2020
Messages
25
Location
Mn
Tried resetting the CSM - nothing happened. No lights or sounds. Door latch appears to be ok. I tried following the procedures to test the main control board, but can't seen to find the pins it tells you to check?
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
115,889
Location
McMullen Valley, Arizona
Ok, If the SERVICE LED is SOLID GREEN, then its likely a bad UI(User Interface).

Here's the UI(user interface) for your model: WD21X23462 Kit Svc Ui Top Logic

You can verify that will a multimeter. The UI operational voltage is output from the main control on connector J722 pin 2 black/green to pin 5 yellow/black. If 13.5 Volts DC is NOT there, replace the main control.

If 13.5 Volts DC is there, replace the UI.

Snapshot_2 (1).jpg


Jake
 

aho

Premium Member
Joined
Jan 6, 2020
Messages
25
Location
Mn
I am trying to check stuff that does not require me to remove the door, but also don't want to order a UI board and or MC board if 1 of them is not bad.
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
115,889
Location
McMullen Valley, Arizona
J722 is on the main control board, get a flashlight or droplight to see it better.:)

Jake
 

aho

Premium Member
Joined
Jan 6, 2020
Messages
25
Location
Mn
I have a pair of glasses and a magnifying lens... Lol.can you give me an area to search? Like lower right... Etc
 

aho

Premium Member
Joined
Jan 6, 2020
Messages
25
Location
Mn
I have it out and looking again...
 

Attachments

  • 15783341400671842812294978542786.jpg
    15783341400671842812294978542786.jpg
    265.1 KB · Views: 98

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
115,889
Location
McMullen Valley, Arizona
It's the connector where the door wire harness connects to the main control board.

Jake
 

aho

Premium Member
Joined
Jan 6, 2020
Messages
25
Location
Mn
So the white plug.... Says J711 above it.
 

Attachments

  • 15783346543435019512594281248615.jpg
    15783346543435019512594281248615.jpg
    303.2 KB · Views: 56

aho

Premium Member
Joined
Jan 6, 2020
Messages
25
Location
Mn
Also, am I testing the pins on the bottom of the metal tray that holds the MC board? Where the door harness plugs into....
 

aho

Premium Member
Joined
Jan 6, 2020
Messages
25
Location
Mn
.
 

Attachments

  • 15783349003575325069235665311975.jpg
    15783349003575325069235665311975.jpg
    222 KB · Views: 67

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
115,889
Location
McMullen Valley, Arizona
There it is, the white one above the ethernet port.:)

Jake
 

aho

Premium Member
Joined
Jan 6, 2020
Messages
25
Location
Mn
Sorry for all the ?'s, but I'm guessing the board needs to be plugged into the power harness? Do the rest of the harnesses need to be plugged into to test... There's not much room... And do u put my meter thing on 2m ?
 

Attachments

  • 15783354626132396137596071123372.jpg
    15783354626132396137596071123372.jpg
    220.7 KB · Views: 37

aho

Premium Member
Joined
Jan 6, 2020
Messages
25
Location
Mn
Sorry again, never used this multimeter... But I'm trying :)
 

aho

Premium Member
Joined
Jan 6, 2020
Messages
25
Location
Mn
Switched it to this setting? V~?
 

Attachments

  • 15783361386558803676324514437965.jpg
    15783361386558803676324514437965.jpg
    207.1 KB · Views: 49

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
115,889
Location
McMullen Valley, Arizona
No, that's AC.

Put your meter on V with the straight line and dots underneath the straight line.

Put it on 20.

Yes, you need to connect the 120 volt connector up to the board, that should be all.

Jake
 

aho

Premium Member
Joined
Jan 6, 2020
Messages
25
Location
Mn
So I'm guessing the MC board is ok and I need a UI?
 
Top