• Please note, some of the links on our site are affiliate links (Learn More)

FIXED GE GDF620HMJ2ES is dead, no lights. Has power. Main control board has steady green light

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
115,889
Location
McMullen Valley, Arizona
Ok, between pin 2 black/green to pin 5 yellow/black you got 14 volts DC on the control board? If that's the case your control board is good, and you'd need the new UI board I posted the link to in post #3 above.



Jake
 

aho

Premium Member
Joined
Jan 6, 2020
Messages
25
Location
Mn
Yes, 14V so I will order a UI board and report back when I get that installed... Thank you very much for the help :)
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
115,889
Location
McMullen Valley, Arizona
Yes 14 Volts DC means the control board is good. Correct, the problem is the UI board.

When you receive it there will be a instruction sheet in it to set the personality jumpers properly per your model number.

Yes, let us know how it goes after you replace it.

If you need a step by step in replacing it, I posted the service manual for your model in this thread for Leon, he has the exact same model as yours:

Jake
 

aho

Premium Member
Joined
Jan 6, 2020
Messages
25
Location
Mn
While I'm waiting for the UI, I've been trying to figure out this jumper personality thing. So if my existing board doesn't have a jumper, do I still mess with the jumper on the new board? I'm guessing yes and how do I do that? I see what looks like a black/lego looking box with some copper pins in it? I found my model on the instructions and see the configuration, but unsure how or what I do?
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
115,889
Location
McMullen Valley, Arizona
In that thread link of Leons dishwasher(which is the exact same model as yours), look what he says--->The part I replaced did not have jumpers and that concerned me at first, but I followed included jumper settings and it worked like a champ.

Don't worry, the instructions tell you what to do.:)

I have not replaced a UI Board on this model as of yet, or I could have told you.:)

Jake
 

aho

Premium Member
Joined
Jan 6, 2020
Messages
25
Location
Mn
Old board, no jumpers... New board.. Jumpers.. Instructions are not friendly
 

Attachments

  • 15786004250471872519816158655911.jpg
    15786004250471872519816158655911.jpg
    342.3 KB · Views: 85
  • 15786004479906933289475597149860.jpg
    15786004479906933289475597149860.jpg
    346.2 KB · Views: 84

aho

Premium Member
Joined
Jan 6, 2020
Messages
25
Location
Mn
I did a search on 'how to configure jumpers on a new ui board' and this is what I found -

There should be small jumpers, that are used to short between the pins.
You take them off the old board and place them in the same position on the new one.

If there are no jumpers on the old board then you do not need them.

So I'm guessing since my old board has no jumpers I can just install the new ui board?
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
115,889
Location
McMullen Valley, Arizona
Look here, GDF620 is personality 1. See how the jumpers are set? Set yours the exact same way. The jumper settings are on the control board.

jumpers.jpg
Board 4.jpg
 

aho

Premium Member
Joined
Jan 6, 2020
Messages
25
Location
Mn
How do you 'set them'... Push down, pull up? I don't get what I'm supposed to do....
 

aho

Premium Member
Joined
Jan 6, 2020
Messages
25
Location
Mn
And those instructions you posted are for the main control board . I replaced the UI board.
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
115,889
Location
McMullen Valley, Arizona
They should slide to set them.

Take a photo of your UI board jumper instructions sheet and upload it here, I need to see it.

Jake
 

aho

Premium Member
Joined
Jan 6, 2020
Messages
25
Location
Mn
I will have to do that tomorrow, I'm at work.... But now that you say 'slide'....I think I know what to do? Will report back :) Thanks
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
115,889
Location
McMullen Valley, Arizona
Ok, sounds good.:)

Jake
 

aho

Premium Member
Joined
Jan 6, 2020
Messages
25
Location
Mn
I finally got it fixed!!!! The instructions for setting the jumper personality are terrible! I'm attaching pics so hopefully it will help someone else .
 

Attachments

  • 11736.jpeg
    11736.jpeg
    860 KB · Views: 128
  • 11737.jpeg
    11737.jpeg
    972.9 KB · Views: 142

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
115,889
Location
McMullen Valley, Arizona
Excellent, glad to hear the new UI board fixed it, so you actually have to remove them to put them in the proper place, interesting. I have not have to change the UI board as of yet, but that is good to know. (y)

Thanks for the update!

Jake
 

aho

Premium Member
Joined
Jan 6, 2020
Messages
25
Location
Mn
Yes, there are 4 individual sections that make up the black box.. They are 'caps'.
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
115,889
Location
McMullen Valley, Arizona
Got it! Thanks for letting us know.:)

Jake
 
Top