FIXED GE Profile Oven F7 error messages

Status
Not open for further replies.

ADenver

Member
Joined
Aug 29, 2011
Messages
1
Location
Denver
Powerman
After follow thru your simple self fixed solution, my GE double oven comes back to life.
My GE Double Oven is 12 years old ( it's barely used though, the bottom one is basically brand new, never used )
GE Double Oven model # 326B1230P001.
Here is what I did:
1) Remove 3 screws at the bottom of the top front panel
2) Follow thru Powerman Simple Fix Directions
3) Enable for me to inserting insulation between segments of the ribbon cable, (remove another 4 screws off the back of the front panel and unplug Ribbon so it
gives me an easy access to the front panel so that I can take it down to work on) in front of the front panel is an adhessive clear plastic, take it easy to
pop it up with a patty knife, push up the Ribbon a little bit then I can easily insert insulation between the segments of the ribbon cable.
4) My problem of the GE Double Oven solved.
5) Thanks to Powerman Simple Fix Direction !!!
 

BigLew

Premium Member
Joined
Sep 17, 2011
Messages
3
Location
Raleigh, NC
F7 and double F0 errors

I've been trying to fix this JTP56SD1SS double oven for about a month now.
It gets the dreaded F7 and the Powerman fix does not work ....
... This is a stainless steel control panel cover and there is no tolerance to get anything down in-between the ribbon cable(s).

I've tried the eraser, the powerman fix, and even cut the end of the ribbon cable so that it has fresh connection to the ERC.
always, and quickly get the F7

If I press clear/off and remove the ribbon cable.
It takes a couple minutes and I get an F0 on the top oven, then about 5 minutes later get an F0 on the bottom oven.

So , I was going to replace the ERC, then I read where it might 'always' be the keypad control panel.

Unfortunately, the SS model costs a ton to replace.
Has anyone tried to 'disassemble' the SS panel? If so, how?
thanks
Looking forward to some help!!
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
99,831
Location
McMullen Valley, Arizona
Hi,

Like I said a few years ago in this thread, F7 and F0 error codes are basically the same.

Here is a test to find out whether its your control panel or control board:

Determine if problem is with the Key Panel or Control by:
1. Pushing CLEAR/OFF pad.
2. Disconnecting Ribbon Cable from control and waiting at least 32 seconds to see if Code recurs

If code recurs, problem is in the control. Replace control.

If code does not recur, problem is with the Key Panel.


So from what you did, the error code did return, so that means its your ERC thats bad.

Here's the ERC for your model you can order here: Manufacturer's Number: WB27T10297

Jake
 

BigLew

Premium Member
Joined
Sep 17, 2011
Messages
3
Location
Raleigh, NC

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
99,831
Location
McMullen Valley, Arizona
Ok, keep us posted.

Jake
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
99,831
Location
McMullen Valley, Arizona
Excellent BigLew, glad to hear that.:)

Jake
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top