• Please note, some of the links on our site are affiliate links (Learn More)

FIXED GE Profile Slide-in Gas Range (PGS930YPFS) - No Gas going into the Range

Status
Not open for further replies.

KewlDallas

Premium Member
Joined
Jul 18, 2022
Messages
9
Location
Texas
Model Number
PGS930YPFS
Brand
GE
Age
Less than 1 year
I recently purchased a GE Profile 30" Slide-in Gas Range (PGS930YPFS) - No Gas going into the Range

Hook up/setup was easy enough. However, when I go to test the top burners and oven, no gas is making it to the burners or oven.

I did verify the gas line (natural gas, not propane) and there are no issues there.

I have tried to google this issue and not finding anything at all - I have a GE Tech come out on Saturday, but would prefer to deal with it on my own, if possible.

Any suggestions?

Please and Thank you!

-kd
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
132,461
Location
Redmond, Oregon
How long did you let the gas turned on? When you first get a new range it takes about 30 seconds for the gas to start coming in.

Jake
 

KewlDallas

Premium Member
Joined
Jul 18, 2022
Messages
9
Location
Texas
How long did you let the gas turned on? When you first get a new range it takes about 30 seconds for the gas to start coming in.

Jake
Hello Jake and thanks for your replay!

We have kept the gas on continuous and still have the same issue, no gas making it into the range.

Additional Thoughts?

Thanks

-kd
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
132,461
Location
Redmond, Oregon
Ok, look on the gas regulator valve where you connected the gas line to and see if there is a little lever on it, make sure the lever is pulled out.

Look here and you will see:

Jake
 

KewlDallas

Premium Member
Joined
Jul 18, 2022
Messages
9
Location
Texas
Sorry, not to too familiar with this... is this what you are talking about - the Gas Regulator:
 

Attachments

  • reg.jpeg
    reg.jpeg
    68.3 KB · Views: 32

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
132,461
Location
Redmond, Oregon
No, its connected to the range itself.

I circled it in black, that's the oven gas shut off lever, you pull it to open, push it to close. See if its pushed-in. It should be located either underneath the oven towards the back or all the way in the back of your range at the bottom.

ge-valve-wb19k10079-ap5671383_01_l (1).jpg
 

KewlDallas

Premium Member
Joined
Jul 18, 2022
Messages
9
Location
Texas
I will check it out in a bit after the cabinet guy is done in there for the day...

Thanks Jake! :)
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
132,461
Location
Redmond, Oregon
Good, its pulled in the out position, so that means its ON.

You'll need to wait for GE come out under warranty to see why no gas is flowing into the range then.

Jake
 

KewlDallas

Premium Member
Joined
Jul 18, 2022
Messages
9
Location
Texas
Good, its pulled in the out position, so that means its ON.

You'll need to wait for GE come out under warranty to see why no gas is flowing into the range then.

Jake
Yes, Sir!

Hoping it's something quick as we have been without a kitchen/range for over 2 months due to a remodel.

Thanks Jake for your assistance! We update later...

-kd
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
132,461
Location
Redmond, Oregon
Glad to help kd, yes keep us posted.:)

Jake
 

KewlDallas

Premium Member
Joined
Jul 18, 2022
Messages
9
Location
Texas
Good Morning Jake,

GE tech came and went. He said the issue, more than likely, is that there are two Regulators for the gas. One that the GC put on and one that is on the range. He said that there should be only one, which is already on the range. 🤷‍♂️He also said that there shouldn't be any pipe-dope on the flex hose. No idea about that one but make sense I guess since it's not a black-pipe to black-pipe type of fitting.

Thoughts?

Thanks

-kd
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
132,461
Location
Redmond, Oregon
Yes, he is correct, you should only have one gas regulator, just the one that came with the range.

He also said that there shouldn't be any pipe-dope on the flex hose. No idea about that one but make sense I guess since it's not a black-pipe to black-pipe type of fitting.
He's also correct about that, the gas flex line is compression fitted onto the gas regulator nipple, so pipe dope is NOT needed.

Jake
 

KewlDallas

Premium Member
Joined
Jul 18, 2022
Messages
9
Location
Texas
Hello Jake,

We are good to go. Getting rid of the 2nd regulator was the key!

Thank you Jake!
 

Attachments

  • File Jul 24, 5 59 46 PM.png
    File Jul 24, 5 59 46 PM.png
    5.7 MB · Views: 21

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
132,461
Location
Redmond, Oregon
Excellent KD, glad to hear that.(y)

Thanks for the update!

Jake
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
If you feel that you have benefited from this site, and would like to show your appreciation.
Top