• Please note, some of the links on our site are affiliate links (Learn More)

FIXED GE Washer Top Load Washer GTWN4250D1WS won't drain

Status
Not open for further replies.

Smitty101

Premium Member
Joined
Oct 31, 2019
Messages
25
Location
Indiana
Model Number
GTWN4250D1WS
Brand
GE
Age
6-10 years
We have a 6-7 year old GE top load washer model GTWN4250D1WS. A week ago it stopped and did not drain. We thought it was because we turned off the power to change a light switch in an adjoining room while the washer was running and thought that was what did it. We unplugged it for an hour, then plugged it back in, messed with the dial and start button several time and it finally drained. We ran a empty test load in it and it worked fine. Since have done 6-10 loads successfully in washer, until yesterday again. Wouldn't drain like last time. We completed same steps - unplugged, then messed with dial and start button several times. When we would try any mode and press start button it would make humming noise but not do anything. We finally had to remove wet clothes and shop vac all the water out. In reading other posts on the forum we have completed the following troubleshooting:

We tested for these steady and pulsing serial voltages at the Control Board J7 Connector. Check for approximately 12.8 Volts DC steady from RED to BLUE. The BLUE wire is DC ground.
Check for the pulsing DC communication voltage from the RED and YELLOW. This was all fine, the RED to BLUE was around a 12.9 and the RED and YELLOW was a pulsing.

We disconnected the communication harness at the Motor and checked the Motor harness connector for the same voltages found at the Control Board - this was fine also.

We removed the drain pump and checked for any blockages, checked the pump hoses for plugs - these all look clear.

We are trying to rule out everything else to make sure it is the motor as that is a hefty cost on a 7 year old washer. Is there any way to test to make sure the power going to the drain pump is good to fully rule that problem out?
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
122,630
Location
McMullen Valley, Arizona
What I do is get my multimeter and set it on AC Volts, then put your meter leads in the 2 electrical connectors that connects to the drain pump(one meter lead in each electrical connector). If you are getting 120 volts to the drain pump and the drain pump isn't running you have a bad drain pump. If no 120 volts, when it should be draining, then the control board is the problem.

Here's the drain pump for your model:
Drain Pump WH23X10043


Here's the control board for your model:
WH12X10614 Control Asm


Jake
 

Smitty101

Premium Member
Joined
Oct 31, 2019
Messages
25
Location
Indiana
Ok - we tested the lead to the drain pump and got 120v. After testing it and plugging lead back into pump - it was like the pump wanted to work again? Weak pump? So does this rule out the motor being bad?
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
122,630
Location
McMullen Valley, Arizona
Yes, weak drain pump.:)

Jake
 

Smitty101

Premium Member
Joined
Oct 31, 2019
Messages
25
Location
Indiana
Installed the pump today - seems to be working again! Thank you once again for your help.
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
122,630
Location
McMullen Valley, Arizona
Excellent Smitty, glad to hear the new drain pump fixed it.(y)

Thanks for the update!

Jake
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top