Getting logged out quick

DFS

Premium Member
Joined
Jan 1, 2009
Messages
12
Location
Massachusetts
When I try to post a thread or respond to a thread I end up at a message that says I am not logged in, which I was, why?
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
100,772
Location
McMullen Valley, Arizona
Not sure, no one else has mentioned this happening before.

Clear you internet browser cache and cookies and try again.

Jake
 

jeff1

Appliance Tech - Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 10, 2004
Messages
23,725
Location
Ontario, Canada
If I have taken too long researching something the forum has "timed out" and dumped me before.

jeff.
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
100,772
Location
McMullen Valley, Arizona
Thats weird, you are clicking the "Remember Me" check box when you log in?

Since I started this forum back in 2004 I don't recall that ever happening to me.

Jake
 

jeff1

Appliance Tech - Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 10, 2004
Messages
23,725
Location
Ontario, Canada
you are clicking the "Remember Me" check box when you log in?
Nope, never...I haven't on any forum.

jeff.
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
100,772
Location
McMullen Valley, Arizona
I checked the forum that makes this forum software and another user said the same thing, and the support tech said to check the "Remember Me" box.

Then when your done posting just hit the "Log Out" link.

I just found a setting that may increase the log out time, right now its set at 1800 seconds which is 30 minutes.

Does it log you out before 30 minutes?

Jake
 

jeff1

Appliance Tech - Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 10, 2004
Messages
23,725
Location
Ontario, Canada
Didn't really pay attention to the acual time.....but it -seemed- like 15-20 minutes of idle time and would have to log back in as it would say "timed out".

jeff.
 

rickgburton

Appliance Tech - Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 11, 2006
Messages
34,086
Location
Murray, Utah 84107, United States
That's weird Jeff. I logged in over a year ago and haven't had to log back in since. Even if I shut down my computer for a couple days, as soon as I turn it on and open my browser I'm still logged in. When I went to West Yellowstone and used my sisters computer I had to log in on her computer. When I got back and turned on my computer I didn't have to log in. I went to Starbucks, waited in line for my coffee, stopped at the bakery for an apple fritter (Mmmm), got gas at 7-11, came back and finished this post without having to log back in.
 

jeff1

Appliance Tech - Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 10, 2004
Messages
23,725
Location
Ontario, Canada
Forum doesn't like Canadians....eh ;)

LOL!

jeff.
 

rickgburton

Appliance Tech - Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 11, 2006
Messages
34,086
Location
Murray, Utah 84107, United States
That's because you didn't follow the instructions for the "Don't ask, don't tell" log in.....LOL
 

jeff1

Appliance Tech - Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 10, 2004
Messages
23,725
Location
Ontario, Canada
That's because you didn't follow the instructions
Like most guys....I don't read the destructions! ;)

jeff.
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
100,772
Location
McMullen Valley, Arizona
But Rick you checked the "Remember Me" box right?

Thats what I always do and I will always be logged in at all times, unless I clean out my cookies, Yummy!

Jake
 

rickgburton

Appliance Tech - Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 11, 2006
Messages
34,086
Location
Murray, Utah 84107, United States
Right, and I like it like that! I moved my applianceblog cookies to the cookie jar in CCleaner.
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
100,772
Location
McMullen Valley, Arizona
Perfect Rick.:)

Jake
 
Top