FIXED GTUP270EM0WW Stacked GE washer/dryer lights Blinking doesn't start at all.

Status
Not open for further replies.

grover805

Premium Member
Joined
Aug 5, 2010
Messages
43
Location
Camarillo, California, United States
Model Number
GTUP270EM0WW
Brand
GE
Age
1-5 years
Hi all you guys helped me before.

SO at work we have a Stacked GE washer/dryer. model: GTUP270EM0WW. The top dryer is working fine...the lower washer does nothing when you close the lid. no water coming out, nothing. Nothing in none of the stages.
I inspected it, and looked inside and saw that out of the two wires that lead from the lid actuator to a magnetic device, one of them was cut off. It appeared that maybe the washer wash shaking so bad that it cut of the wire off. I went ahead and crimped them back together hoping that would solve the problem but it didn’t.

Before and after that fix, the status lights were this:

STATUS:
ON-lite,
WASH-blinking
Rinse-OFF
Spin-blinking
Lid lock-off

I reset the circuit breaker for the laundry room; check to see that water supply was on,I discounted the power supply then reconnected it after Two minutes and nothing. Same status lights were blinking.

There was a point in my testing that I closed the lid a litter harder than regular and the lid was in locked mode. But the status lights were the same as mentioned. But nothing really happened. I try to replicate what I had just done but nothing happened.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated

JOSE
 

Rubens

Member
Joined
Apr 20, 2012
Messages
1
Location
NYC
Jose: We have the same problem with the same machine. I put the two wires together with no result. What was the solution to your problem? Many thanks in advance.
 

grover805

Premium Member
Joined
Aug 5, 2010
Messages
43
Location
Camarillo, California, United States
You might have already fix the problem but I solved the problem. Turns out that the blinking lights were setting off a code. in my case it was activating a "BAD lid SWITCH" after a fix. You have to CLEAR THE ERROR CODES. So the machine could Reset. By rotating the washer knob to position 4 and press and hold the START/ PAUSE button. The indicator will flash during this process. Release the start/pause button after 3 seconds. Press and hold the start/pause button and fabric softener button while rotating the knob to position tn 6 to exit diagnostic.
 

andyle

Premium Member
Joined
Dec 30, 2012
Messages
3
Location
san diego
By rotating the washer knob to position 4 and press and hold the START/ PAUSE button. The indicator will flash during this process. Release the start/pause button after 3 seconds

i got the same problem by what do you mean postion 4?
 

grover805

Premium Member
Joined
Aug 5, 2010
Messages
43
Location
Camarillo, California, United States
yea that 2nd link....I don't know what happened I looked at it again its super small. i had got that diagram from that site..which is the TECH Manuel. have u opened up the machine and see if the TECH Manuel is inside the machine somewhere...its usually behind the control panel...anyways


position 4 is the position from 12 o clock.(on washer dial settings) going in clock wise-pattern...which would be MEDIUM(delicates)


position 6 is Medium (permanent press)

i will see if i have the original TECH Manuel at work. tomorrow.
 

RyanN

Member
Joined
Apr 6, 2016
Messages
1
Location
illinois
I created an account just to say that I had the same problem, the suggested solution worked and to thank everyone who provided info.

I have this same model and let me say it's been an appliance from hell. Not only is this the third time it has broken down in a year, the dryer tears off buttons regularly.

In any event, there are two wires that lead to the lid switch (part no. WH12X10334, I bought).

About a year ago, one of them was cut from what I can only assume was the basin spinning unevenly. I crimped those together. Then last week the other was cut. Unfortunately, the cut was so close to the lid switch that there wasn't any wire left for me to crimp the two sides back together. So I bought a new one and installed it myself. However, the lights as described by the OP were still blinking and the washer wasn't working. I had to clear the error codes and reset it exactly as grover805 suggested above. All is working now, or should I say for now. Hopefully that helps someone.
 

dsmacc1070

Member
Joined
Oct 31, 2016
Messages
1
Location
Georgia
i hope to heaven this works!! i have not felt like screwing with my broken machine in months!!! i am sooo sick of it!! i just let it fill up with hot water and softener; unplug the fuse to drain the water, then wring out the clothes and sheets to dry, but we r going to get cold, soon... the blankets are too heavy to wring out. this machine has been nothing bet trouble and junk; i was told, today, to get the entire harness (wiring). my machine does fill up, but does not agitate or spin. last year, the lid lock broke, so i repaired that.... ; the previous years, the electronics board kept breaking... the tub ring broke... i need my washer to work!! i see one loose wire, but do not know if your idea will work... i will try it.... fingers crossed!
 

AllianceSS

Member
Joined
Mar 7, 2017
Messages
1
Location
Seattle, WA
Had the same issues with this washer but it had only been used twice. I took a look at the door switch by poking my head into the drum and looking toward the top of the drum where the switch was located. Looks like the connector popped off during the wash cycle. 8 popped the connected back on and it started working properly again!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top