FIXED GTW460ASJ0WW GE Washer Trouble Programming New Control Board

juwaynes

Premium Member
Joined
Jul 14, 2019
Messages
13
Location
San Jose CA
Model Number
GTW460ASJ0WW
Brand
GE
Age
1-5 years
I have a 4-5 yrs old GE GTW460ASJ0WW top loading washing machine. Just installed new GE WH18X28174 control board. Apparently I didn't program it correctly because my washing machine is not working right. It won't go into any wash mode or fill correctly among other issues. I tried using troubleshooting procedure on the install instructions to reprogram but nothing is working. Can you help me reprogram my new control board so I can get my washing machine working? Please help!
 

rickgburton

Appliance Tech - Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 11, 2006
Messages
34,086
Location
Murray, Utah 84107, United States
juwaynes said:
Apparently I didn't program it correctly.....
You don't need to program it unless you're talking about the personality code?? Post a copy of your instructions or tell me what steps you took to "program" it.
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
100,765
Location
McMullen Valley, Arizona
Rick, on this control board the program instructions does come with it.

What was the problem with your washer for you to replace the control board? This model has had many service bulletins on it.

We also need the serial number of your washer.

Here's the control board for your model:
WH18X28174 Washing Machine Control Board


Jake
 

juwaynes

Premium Member
Joined
Jul 14, 2019
Messages
13
Location
San Jose CA
The instructions were included with the new control board and said I had to program it for my machine. I tried to program it for model id 6 as noted on the attached instructions. BTW - I don't have an LED readout screen on the machine. I just have 6 status lights above my control knob.

When I first programmed it all the lights flashed and went on and off as they were supposed to. I thought it took it correctly. However my machine still doesn't work. I have tried the troubleshooting instructions as well to reprogram several times. Nothing is working. Any help will be greatly appreciated.
 

Attachments

juwaynes

Premium Member
Joined
Jul 14, 2019
Messages
13
Location
San Jose CA
I had to replace the control board because the button on my washing machine was pushed so hard that it actually broke the button on the control board. So I had to replace the control board along with the button tree. They installed very easily, but the programming is what is causing me a problem.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

rickgburton

Appliance Tech - Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 11, 2006
Messages
34,086
Location
Murray, Utah 84107, United States
If you go back into service mode does it show the correct personality code?
 

juwaynes

Premium Member
Joined
Jul 14, 2019
Messages
13
Location
San Jose CA
Unfortunately I don't have a display screen on my washing machine. I only have the six status lights above the control knob. So I'm reading the codes according to the binary chart included on the instructions. The instructions say to go to service mode 17 if an error is made during programing. When I go to service test 17 and press the start button all the lights go off and no test starts. So I press the start button again to select my personality ID and then press and hold the start button to save it. All the lights go off like they're supposed to, but the programming doesn't work. The machine will not do any wash cycles. It just fills up with water and then automatically drains without rotating or agitating. Then the sensing fill light starts flashing and never goes off. However if I can get the machine to go to drain and spin mode, it will actually spin the tub while draining and then stop. After that all the lights go off.
 

rickgburton

Appliance Tech - Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 11, 2006
Messages
34,086
Location
Murray, Utah 84107, United States
From an idle state (all LEDs OFF) press and hold the start button for 10 seconds while rotating the cycle selection knob 180 degrees (seven clicks) and then release the Start button.

Once the Service Mode is entered, all LEDs will turn off for 3 seconds then all cycle status LEDs will be blinking.

Rotate the knob clockwise until the cycle status LEDs look like this:
44104


Press the Start button and your cycle status LEDs should look like this
44105


This is personality code 6 (4+2)

In binary each cycle status LED has its own number. Start with the LED furthest to the right #1. The next LED to the left is double the one on the right. If you had 7 LEDs instead of 6 its number would be 64
44106


The number the control is giving you is the illuminated LEDs numbers added together. Here's a few examples
44107

If your control shows you 6 for the personality code you have programmed it correct and the problem is elsewhere.
 

juwaynes

Premium Member
Joined
Jul 14, 2019
Messages
13
Location
San Jose CA
I do have six status lights above the control knob on my washing machine. The correct lights are shown for personality 6 on my washing machine. However they are not solid, they keep blinking. Does that make a difference?
 

rickgburton

Appliance Tech - Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 11, 2006
Messages
34,086
Location
Murray, Utah 84107, United States
From an idle state (all LEDs off) press and hold the start button for about 10 seconds until all the LEDs turn on then release the start button.

The pause and lid locked LEDs should be constantly blinking

The status LEDs will be blinking for any error codes. As before the error codes are in binary so add the blinking LEDs number to get the error code number

Press the start button to move to the next error code

All the status LEDs will start blinking when there are no more error codes
 

juwaynes

Premium Member
Joined
Jul 14, 2019
Messages
13
Location
San Jose CA
The only error code that I am getting is the 4 + 2 = 6. Each time I press the start button to move to the next code that is the only error that keeps flashing. No matter how many times I press the start button it doesn't stop flashing that error code. At no time do all the lights start flashing.
 

juwaynes

Premium Member
Joined
Jul 14, 2019
Messages
13
Location
San Jose CA
My apologies. I did not follow the check error code directions correctly the first time. Now that I have completed the check error code process correctly, I am getting error codes 8, 14 and 33. Do you know what those mean?
 

rickgburton

Appliance Tech - Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 11, 2006
Messages
34,086
Location
Murray, Utah 84107, United States
Like Jake had mentioned earlier, this machine has lots of service bulletins on it. When there's more than one error code, fixing one problem sometimes takes care of the others. Error codes only go to 26 so I'm not sure what to make of the 33 error code. I want to make sure you're reading the error codes correctly so make sure they match these

44130

Error code 8 - Pressure sensor loss
Follow the steps in this service bulletin

44132

Error code 14 - Lid Lock Fault
Check lid switch continuity at J513 on the control (red wire - yellow wire)

44133

33 -??
 

Attachments

Last edited:

juwaynes

Premium Member
Joined
Jul 14, 2019
Messages
13
Location
San Jose CA
Last error code is actually 17. My apologies.

I didn't have any of these other problems prior. Thank you so much for all your help.
 

juwaynes

Premium Member
Joined
Jul 14, 2019
Messages
13
Location
San Jose CA
I didn't have any trouble with my washing machine before I replaced this board except for the button being broken on the board. I'm really frustrated and lost here. My washing machine is not working and I really need to do laundry. I also attached a picture with my washing machine's model and serial number below as a reference. Do you know what I can do?
 

Attachments

rickgburton

Appliance Tech - Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 11, 2006
Messages
34,086
Location
Murray, Utah 84107, United States
OK maybe a coincidence but I think you might have two separate problems. Were you having any washer issues before the knob broke? Do this:
Go into service mode and write down any error codes. Then clear all the service codes. Check the wires and connectors between the main board and lid lock assembly for continuity and make sure all the connectors are on tight. If the wire harness and connectors checks good, replace the lid lock assembly. That will most likely solve the problem.
 

Attachments

juwaynes

Premium Member
Joined
Jul 14, 2019
Messages
13
Location
San Jose CA
Previously I had no problems with my washing machine. The only reason I replaced the control board is because the stop-start button got pushed too hard and broke-off on the control board. My Lid Lock works. The only mode that actually works on my washing machine right now is the Drain and Spin. The lid lock locks, the drum spins perfectly fine so the clothes drain out enough that I can put them in the dryer. It just won't start a normal washing cycle. If I put the washing machine into test mode and move it to a wash test, it will fill with water and hold the water if I press the stop button. However, if I try to run a normal wash load, the washing machine fills up with water and then immediately drains and then the sensing fill light starts flashing. It keeps flashing and doesn't go to any other mode until I press the stop button. My drain hose is fine. I have no siphoning issues. I'm assuming it's something with the programming I'm doing. Please tell me how to clear the error codes once I get them all. Thank you.
 

juwaynes

Premium Member
Joined
Jul 14, 2019
Messages
13
Location
San Jose CA
I am only getting error code 8. This is something to do with expected pressure? When I replaced the control board I noticed there's like an air tube under the control panel that I pulled out. I'm thinking maybe I didn't put it back right? I can see one end comes out from the washing machine the other end is not connected to anything. I don't know how that tube id supposed to look as I can't find it on a schematic. Could that be causing the error code 8?
 

rickgburton

Appliance Tech - Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 11, 2006
Messages
34,086
Location
Murray, Utah 84107, United States
Yes, the pressure hose needs to be connected to the board. You had to remove it from the old board when you replaced the board. Did you forget where it goes?
Snapshot_1.jpg


juwaynes said:
...I didn't program it correctly... I did not follow the check error code directions correctly...Last error code is actually 17. My apologies ... maybe I didn't put it back right?
Install the pressure hose then go into service mode Test #16. Press the start button and that will clear the error code. If the personality code is correct start a wash cycle and see if it works. You're obviously having trouble getting the machine set up and running the field test mode.
 
Top