GZ25FSRXYY0 Whirlpool side by side, Icemaker line keeps freezing on top

jlp4345

Premium Member
Model Number
GZ25FSRXYY0
Brand
Whirlpool
I am a licensed plumber and have been trying to help a customer repair his refrigerator. He has a Whirlpool side by side fridge, with the freezer drawers in the bottom. The icemaker is located in the top left hand corner in this little enclosed box. He said he's had this fridge a little over a year but it has never made ice good, just a few cubes if at all. I originally found his water pressure to be terrible, so I thought that was the problem. He had a 1/4 inch line ran under house a long way with a piercing valve. I cut all that out and ran him a dedicated 1/2 inch line with standard cut off to back of fridge and increased the pressure.

I was thinking problem solved, but a week later he calls and says it's still not making ice. To make a long story short, I've replaced the water inlet valve, as well as the icemaker itself, and I have thawed out the plastic 1/4 inch water line that's actually on top of the fridge inside this little plastic cover. Every time I do this it will make a few cubes, not much at all, maybe 8 small cubes, but then won't do anything else. I don't understand it. Sometimes I go back and the line on top is frozen up inside with ice again, sometimes not, but either way it's not making ice. The only thing left that I can think of is the fridge has 2 control boards located in the back of the fridge behind a cover. I was thinking this could be bad, I don't know. I can run a jumper wire from N to M on the icemaker and manually put it in harvest mode and it sends water and makes the cubes but even doing that the cubes are few and small.