• Please note, some of the links on our site are affiliate links (Learn More)

FIXED HBL8650UC/10 Bosch double oven display keeps resetting

rickgburton

Appliance Tech - Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 11, 2006
Messages
41,528
Location
Murray, Utah 84107, United States
To access the relay board, pull the unit out from the wall, all but about 6 inches and remove the access panel (3 T20 screws) on the top of the unit.
Snapshot_5.jpg

Here's how I do it:

C-BI Oven Remove.jpg
 

JamesMcD

Premium Member
Joined
Jan 23, 2021
Messages
10
Location
Canada
James, I'd love to see the repair manual. Can you post it here? Thanks!
Hopefully the manual is useful. I'd really appreciate it Joe if you could take a few pics or even video when your repair tech comes on the 28th and what the outcome is. It's rare that you have the exact same model with the exact same symptoms so I'm sure I could learn lots before I call a repair guy up here in Canada.
 

joe-r

Premium Member
Joined
Jan 15, 2021
Messages
7
Location
Sarasota, FL
Thanks, James! I'll let you know what happens on the 28th and take any relevant photos. I took some voltage measurements per the instructions on page 23 of the service manual (7.1 Fault Tree Diagram). I found that the voltage coming in from the Power Supply Module (C) to the Control Module (B) that should be ~9.6 VDC is actually ~17 VDC. I get the same voltage measurement on port X2 on the Control Module (B) between Pin 1 and Pin 3. The other voltage measurements look good (~4.5 VDC and ~5 VDC). I also see the fluctuation in voltage every 2 seconds between the Control Module (B) and the User Interface Module (A) (Pin 1 to Pin 2).

So, it looks like the Power Supply Module may be supplying too much voltage.
 

JamesMcD

Premium Member
Joined
Jan 23, 2021
Messages
10
Location
Canada
That's really interesting and informative. I really appreciate you taking the time to respond.
 

joe-r

Premium Member
Joined
Jan 15, 2021
Messages
7
Location
Sarasota, FL
Hey James, not fixed yet. Sorry, I meant to reply sooner. The repair tech thinks it's the control module, and he ordered a replacement. If that fixes it, he expects the repair to be about $500 with labor. He said that there's a chance that the interface module (with the display and touch buttons) won't work with the new control module, which would make it another $500 ($1,000 total). That's getting steep, so I asked him if there are any new ovens that will stack with the microwave that still works. He was going to research that and get back to me. I'll reply when I have more information.
 

JamesMcD

Premium Member
Joined
Jan 23, 2021
Messages
10
Location
Canada
Hey James, not fixed yet. Sorry, I meant to reply sooner. The repair tech thinks it's the control module, and he ordered a replacement. If that fixes it, he expects the repair to be about $500 with labor. He said that there's a chance that the interface module (with the display and touch buttons) won't work with the new control module, which would make it another $500 ($1,000 total). That's getting steep, so I asked him if there are any new ovens that will stack with the microwave that still works. He was going to research that and get back to me. I'll reply when I have more information.
Wow. Slightly sucks. We bought a new house to close in 18 months. Just trying to keep this place together. Thanks. I’ll wait to see your final outcome.
 

joe-r

Premium Member
Joined
Jan 15, 2021
Messages
7
Location
Sarasota, FL
Quick update: the control module for my repair is backordered until late March, and I haven't heard back about any replacement ovens that would work with the microwave in the stack that's still working.
 

JamesMcD

Premium Member
Joined
Jan 23, 2021
Messages
10
Location
Canada
Quick update: the control module for my repair is backordered until late March, and I haven't heard back about any replacement ovens that would work with the microwave in the stack that's still working.
Thanks a bunch for the update. I wait with baited breath. Lol. Hopefully the control module isn’t crazy expensive. I know it will be almost 50 percent more in Canada.
btw as a strange update I had pressed that button for over a month and it stayed in the same loop as yours. About 10 days ago I walked by and pressed the info button and it came out of the loop and the oven is able to be used. It continues to reset every second day but the screen comes back. Weird.
 
Top