Hotpoint HSM25GFRESA/Dispenser Issues

kjb962

Premium Member
Joined
Apr 29, 2009
Messages
6
Location
Fruitport MI
I called GE today and they told me I need a solenoid, my ice maker works fine, full bin, my dispenser works when it feels like it...same issues as another person in here. Light will dim and nothing will happen no noise...but then if I jiggle the bin SOMETIMES it will work but 90% of the time it dosen't. I cant get water or ice when it does this. Does this mean its the solenoid or the mother board???? Help :)
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
104,635
Location
McMullen Valley, Arizona
Its your motherboard thats bad.

Whats the serial# of your refrigerator, you may qualify for a free one from GE/Hotpoint.

Here's the one for your model you can order(Video Included):
Main Control Board WR55X10942


Make sure you unplug your refrigerator first!

Jake
 

kjb962

Premium Member
Joined
Apr 29, 2009
Messages
6
Location
Fruitport MI
Dispenser Issues

The serial number is SH237969 Good thing I didn't buy that other part huh LOL?
Thank you!!
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
104,635
Location
McMullen Valley, Arizona
Yup.:)

Looks like your just out of the serial# range for a free one. HH – RL serial range are the ones you get for free.

You can order it from the link I posted to it above.

Jake
 

kjb962

Premium Member
Joined
Apr 29, 2009
Messages
6
Location
Fruitport MI
Thanks

Thank you !!! Can you tell me why it is the motherboard versus the other part that they told me I needed? Just curious.
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
104,635
Location
McMullen Valley, Arizona
Because of the dimming of the lights.:)

Jake
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
104,635
Location
McMullen Valley, Arizona
hahaa, yes, you wouldn't believe how many times what they say is opposite to what I say because they don't go out and work on these everyday like I do, they just sit in their cubicle and take phone calls only.:)

Jake
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
104,635
Location
McMullen Valley, Arizona
Sounds good, glad to help.:)

Jake
 

kjb962

Premium Member
Joined
Apr 29, 2009
Messages
6
Location
Fruitport MI
UGH not working at all now

So I didn't get that mother board right away thinking it was just affecting my dispenser now my fridge/freezer took a dump. I called this morning to get a repair person out and I moved it to clean behind it and unplugged it then plugged it back in now it is working!!! I'm taking it that its going to do this again???
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
104,635
Location
McMullen Valley, Arizona
Thats odd, maybe your electrical outlet where it plugs into is loose, wiggle the cord while its in the outlet to see.

Jake
 
Top