• Please note, some of the links on our site are affiliate links (Learn More)

FIXED How to replace a - Whirlpool/Kenmore Model 106 - Refrigerator Start Relay

Status
Not open for further replies.

DuaneBolin

Premium Member
Joined
May 8, 2008
Messages
4
Location
Santa Claus, IN
Last Question I Swear!

Thanks again, Jake! One last question: if I order the kit (819099), do I still need to order the individual relay (4318083)? Or would the kit by itself suffice? I'm just wondering since the kit is $6 cheaper than the relay by itself. Thanks for all you do!

Duane Bolin
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
107,811
Location
McMullen Valley, Arizona
If you ordered the kit-819099 you wouldn't need to order the relay-4318083 Duane.:)

Jake
 

George Quest

Premium Member
Joined
Dec 10, 2008
Messages
3
Location
Arizona
start relay - compressor questions

Your forum is very helpful. Based on the other posts, and the clicking sound I'm hearing, I'm suspecting I need to replace the start relay on my Kenmore model #59587990. I tried to remove it without tools, but couldn't, so I'll have to pry it off later. In the meantime, I noticed the compressor is very hot. Is that possible if the start relay isn't working?
Also, I noticed the compressor is mounted to assorb vibration. As I tried to pull the start relay off, I shook the compressor enough to hear something inside it bang against the side. Is that normal?
If these things are consistant with a properly working compressor, than I will procede with replacing the start relay. Thanks for your help.
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
107,811
Location
McMullen Valley, Arizona
Your forum is very helpful. Based on the other posts, and the clicking sound I'm hearing, I'm suspecting I need to replace the start relay on my Kenmore model #106.59587990. I tried to remove it without tools, but couldn't, so I'll have to pry it off later. In the meantime, I noticed the compressor is very hot. Is that possible if the start relay isn't working?
Also, I noticed the compressor is mounted to assorb vibration. As I tried to pull the start relay off, I shook the compressor enough to hear something inside it bang against the side. Is that normal?
If these things are consistant with a properly working compressor, than I will procede with replacing the start relay. Thanks for your help.
I noticed the compressor is very hot. Is that possible if the start relay isn't working?
Yes.

I shook the compressor enough to hear something inside it bang against the side. Is that normal?
Yes.

It sounds like your start relay is definitely bad.

Jake
 

George Quest

Premium Member
Joined
Dec 10, 2008
Messages
3
Location
Arizona
thx

Just wanted to say thanks for the response. I've ordered the part and will give you an update when it arrives.
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
107,811
Location
McMullen Valley, Arizona
Sounds good.:)

Jake
 

George Quest

Premium Member
Joined
Dec 10, 2008
Messages
3
Location
Arizona
Thanks!

Got the start relay yesterday, installed it last night, and I had frozen water this morning! Thank you so much. I was ready to have the frig hauled away until I found your web site. You saved me a bundle, so I'll definately be making a donation. Can't tell you how pleased I am with your advice!
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
107,811
Location
McMullen Valley, Arizona
Good job fixing it.:)

Jake
 

whatnext

Premium Member
Joined
May 24, 2009
Messages
4
Location
indianapolis, IN
extra wires and plastic box

I had the relay on my kenmore coldspot repaired 2x by Sears. Looks like it is out again. Can I please get some direction on:

1) how to get the plastic box off. I can not get a good look at the instructions on the box. giggled it and it looks like there is more too it than that.

2) inspecting the area, I find two unattached wires (one white and one blue), both with female plugs on the end. the white one appears to have had another white wire attached to it that was snipped. my guess is one of the prior repairs may have needed to modify a part to fit. Do I need to worry, or will I just plug in the relay anyway?

Also, someone mentioned in a related post something about getting a kit at a store. would that be like a hardware store, or will I need to go to some type of appliance or electrical parts store.

In case anyone wonders, Sears charges $150+ for the repair. The part is about $30 online. I believe I have repeated problems due to the amount of dust that accumulates under the frig. I need to remember to clean it before it breaks...
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
107,811
Location
McMullen Valley, Arizona
I had the relay on my kenmore coldspot repaired 2x by Sears. Looks like it is out again. Can I please get some direction on:

1) how to get the plastic box off. I can not get a good look at the instructions on the box. giggled it and it looks like there is more too it than that.

2) inspecting the area, I find two unattached wires (one white and one blue), both with female plugs on the end. the white one appears to have had another white wire attached to it that was snipped. my guess is one of the prior repairs may have needed to modify a part to fit. Do I need to worry, or will I just plug in the relay anyway?

Also, someone mentioned in a related post something about getting a kit at a store. would that be like a hardware store, or will I need to go to some type of appliance or electrical parts store.

In case anyone wonders, Sears charges $150+ for the repair. The part is about $30 online. I believe I have repeated problems due to the amount of dust that accumulates under the frig. I need to remember to clean it before it breaks...
Hi,

Whats the model# of your refrigerator? Its located inside the refrigerator section on the upper walls or ceiling.

Sounds like one of the techs left the capacitor wires off, but it will work fine like that anyway.

I usually just use a flathead screwdriver to pry off the start relay device that mounts on the side of your compressor.

How long ago was the last repair made on it?

Jake
 

whatnext

Premium Member
Joined
May 24, 2009
Messages
4
Location
indianapolis, IN
can't believe I got a reply on Sunday of Holiday Weekend

Model is 10658562890.
Based on what I've read (here) it likely is the capacitor wires. should I connect them? which side of the relay?
Got the cover off, easier than expected.
Last service was about 16 months ago.
No luck finding the part today, but we have a Sears parts/service center near and they are open on Monday, so I might actually be able to fix it before Sears comes on Tuesday. Turns out it was $225 to fix.
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
107,811
Location
McMullen Valley, Arizona
Yes, since it has a capacitor I usually don't leave the capacitor wires off myself, but I don't have a wiring diagram on this model to tell you which wire goes where, you should have a wiring diagram either on the back of your refrigerator or in the front behind the kickplate grille that just unsnaps off.

Here's the relay for this model:
Manufacturer part number 2262185 is RepairClinic item number 1026721
2262185

Jake
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
107,811
Location
McMullen Valley, Arizona
Thanks whatnext, glad to help.:)

Jake
 

whatnext

Premium Member
Joined
May 24, 2009
Messages
4
Location
indianapolis, IN
not working yet

Jake,
got the new part and put it in without doing anything to the capacitor wires - basically just replaced the old relay. compressor sounded like it started running, then a little while later is seemed to stop and there was a faint noise like it was trying to start up again. unplugged/replugged the relat and it sounded like the compressor started again.

The part no. on the one I took off was 2262181. should I try a new relay with this part no.?

Thanks.
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
107,811
Location
McMullen Valley, Arizona
Thats odd,

Yes you can.

Here's that relay:
<a href="http://click.linksynergy.com/fs-bin/click?id=YO6223WzStY&offerid=142421.763514834&type=10&subid=">Manufacturer's Number: 2262181
</a><img alt="icon" width="1" height="1" src="http://ad.linksynergy.com/fs-bin/show?id=YO6223WzStY&bids=142421.763514834&type=10&subid="><a href="http://click.linksynergy.com/fs-bin/click?id=YO6223WzStY&offerid=142421.763514834&type=10&subid=">
<img alt="icon" border="0" src="http://www.appliancepartspros.com/PartImage.aspx?imgid=Z3BqLjBfaHRfMTgxMjYyMi9MUFcvc290b2hwdHJhcC8%3d"></a><img alt="icon" width="1" height="1" src="http://ad.linksynergy.com/fs-bin/show?id=YO6223WzStY&bids=142421.763514834&type=10&subid=">2262181

If it still does the same thing, then its possibly your compressor thats bad.

Jake
 

amarzano

Premium Member
Joined
May 26, 2009
Messages
1
Location
SF Bay Area
I have a Kenmore 106.50592000 SxS. The weekend both the Freezer and the Fridge decided to stop working.. :-(

The lights come on and the fan inside is running. Can you give me an idea of if it is the Starter Device or the Relay / Overload that I should try to change?

Thank you..

Alex
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
107,811
Location
McMullen Valley, Arizona

hooperi

Premium Member
Joined
May 28, 2009
Messages
7
Location
Utah
Burned Out Start Relay

I have a KitchenAid KSRD25FKWH03 side-by-side refrigerator. A few days ago it gave off a burnt electrical smell accompanied by reports of smoke. Now it no longer cools. I opened up the back and was able to remove a burned out part from the compressor that I assume to be the start relay assembly (essentially a black box connected to a white box, unfortunately it doesn't look like the parts on the parts diagram so I'm not 100% sure).

Anyway, clearly the part needs to be replaced and I intended to take it to the store to get a new one. However, I then noticed that one of the three connector pins on the compressor has been damaged. It is bent and appears to have melted plastic or metal on part of it. My question is, do I need to replace the compressor or is there a way to salvage the situation? Thanks.

Ivan
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
107,811
Location
McMullen Valley, Arizona
Hi Ivan,

Here's the cheapest price I found on it that you can order:
Manufacturer's Number: 8201786

8201786

For the one round compressor terminal, If you have a file or sand paper, try to file or sand the terminal so that it becomes clean and round again.

Jake
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top