• Please note, some of the links on our site are affiliate links (Learn More)

IF50CM23NW Questions about start relay kit

bsaucer

Premium Member
Joined
Jun 16, 2010
Messages
549
Location
Alabama
Model Number
IF50CM23NW
Brand
Age
6-10 years
This Idylis chest freezer has an unusual start relay on the compressor with a lot of screws and connectors. There are two wires that can plug into it, but I'm not sure which connector is which. I checked the ohms and found between 200 and 300 ohms between what is probably the start/run connectors. Compressor windings test OK. The unit kept clicking on and off (before I removed the part for testing). I'm not sure it was hooked up right to begin with. I think someone worked on it before.
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
112,045
Location
McMullen Valley, Arizona
Ok b,

If you can upload a photo or two of it, we may be able to tell you.

I couldn't locate the wiring diagram though, which we would need too.

Jake
 

bsaucer

Premium Member
Joined
Jun 16, 2010
Messages
549
Location
Alabama
I have files attached.
 

Attachments

  • DSC00010 (2).jpg
    DSC00010 (2).jpg
    223.8 KB · Views: 1,499
  • DSC00009 (2).jpg
    DSC00009 (2).jpg
    175.7 KB · Views: 1,189
  • DSC00005.jpg
    DSC00005.jpg
    155.6 KB · Views: 1,523
  • DSC00007.jpg
    DSC00007.jpg
    164.8 KB · Views: 1,662

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
112,045
Location
McMullen Valley, Arizona
Yes, I see why your confused. but the way you have it wired in the photo looks right to me.

Jake
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
112,045
Location
McMullen Valley, Arizona
I agree with you on that.:)

Jake
 

billbeachey

Premium Member
Joined
Nov 3, 2018
Messages
3
Location
Berne, IN
I have an identical freezer that won't run. I have checked for power right up to the compressor, checked continuity on the compressor, etc. The problem seemed to come down to the start relay, so I replaced it with a couple of pennies to test it. It started immediately, but only ran for 5 seconds. I unplugged it and tried it again later with the same results. What could be wrong?
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
112,045
Location
McMullen Valley, Arizona
The problem seemed to come down to the start relay, so I replaced it with a couple of pennies to test it.

With a couple pennies???

Can you elaborate? I'm not sure what you mean.

Jake
 

billbeachey

Premium Member
Joined
Nov 3, 2018
Messages
3
Location
Berne, IN
Thanks for your response. If you look at the pics earlier in this thread in the second pic, below the overload protector there is a small disc that is identified as the start relay in the service manual. It is about the size of a penny but thicker. Two pennies fit in there nicely.
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
112,045
Location
McMullen Valley, Arizona
Got it! Just for testing is fine to do with pennies.:)

It started immediately, but only ran for 5 seconds. I unplugged it and tried it again later with the same results. What could be wrong?
The compressor piston inside the compressor has seized up and we call that a locked-up compressor.

I've run into 2 compressors in my area in the last couple weeks doing the same thing, only fix is to have the compressor replaced.

Jake
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
112,045
Location
McMullen Valley, Arizona
Glad to help Bill.:)

Jake
 
Top